ΤΗΝΟΣ 360° - ο πληρέστερος νέος οδηγός για το νησί της Τήνου

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece


Zefi Potiri comes from the village Karya in Tinos. She has studied Archeology and History of Arts in the University of Athens and continued her post-graduate studies in Museum Studies in Leicester University. She has been working as an archeologist at excavations in Tinos as well as in museums in Greece and in the United Kingdom. Her love for her background can be distinguished by her until now labors, as well as her active participations in the cultural proceedings of the island. She has taken part voluntarily in the university excavations in Xomburgo and she has presented post-graduate papers known as “The image of the Annunciation and its influence to the people.”, “Developing local audience in the archeological museum of Tinos.” and more.  She has been chief editor of the local newspaper “Karya’s Voice” (Foni tis Karyas.) during the period 1998 to 2004 and as a result she became chief in publishing. Furthermore she has been a member of the borough council of the cultural association of Karya.

 THE WRITER’S NOTE
From my childhood I impatiently have waited for the summer vacation, so I could go to Tinos, my mother’s ancestry. Having no sleep for many nights before the voyage I left my imagination to implement my departure from the Port of Piraeus and in the meantime the trip with “Naias” or “ Panagia Tinou”. As the day of the departure had come and left behind noisy Athens, clinging from the boat’s gunwale I was trying to look as far as I could, to see my island popping up, my Tinos. Like magical images, Isternia, Kardiani, Saint Romanos, Kionia, were passing in front of my eyes, while the boat was gashing the clean blue Aegean Sea, before I disembarked on the blessed island of Virgin Mary. The warm smile on the peoples’ faces at the port and their candid welcome made me feel from the first moment a piece of the Tinian society and adore even more this remarkable island.
But, the place where I really felt the dynamic of Tinos was its inside, the “inside places” (mesa meri), as we Tinian people call them. Among the island’s unique adornments are the villages that bind with the vivid natural scenery, the bench cultivations, the paths, the chapels, the dovecotes, the threshing floors, the windmills and much more. All built in their own inimitable way, could turn your effort to singularize the prettiest into a hassle. They all hide their own nonesuch personality and they make you say every single moment: This, I like.
The years have passed and the touristic development of the islands demanded new facts. Again, this island still resists reformation. It can say several times “No” at the bulldozer, the aluminum, the cement. There are though occasions which wound me, such as, the backfill of archeological findings, the umbrellas at the beaches under recompense, the stores that balefully approach the salt grits, the lawless building.
Despite the above Tinos today continues to preserve its identity, due to the fact that it accomplishes to keep values that vanish. That is why I invite you to explore it with me and understand the sumptuous feast of colors and shapes.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

For the composition of the book that you are holding in your hands, I have required help of many of my compatriots, further than my knowledge for the place I come from and the sources which I consulted. It would need a lot of space to thank every single one who with great generosity and smile devoted their time and their knowledge, but also the entities of the island which eagerly helped me in everything I asked for. As far as personal level is concerned, I would like to thank Mr. Stefano Delatola and Mr. Stefano Giagia for the valuable information that they have given me,February. The economy of the island depends  mostly on agriculture, seafaring, fishing, and tourism(mostly during the summer), but also on the unique green marble and several other rocks, which are on the list of the products exported, as well as vegetables, fruit, potatoes, dairy, (Tinos cheese, gruyere, “kopanisti”), thyme honey of optimal quality and the marvelous “rozaki”(reddish) grape.

The name’s origin
Tinos got its name from King Tino, the first resident of the island and chief of a group of Ionians from Karia of Asia Minor, which first inhabited the island during pre-historical. A local tradition ascribes the name to princess Tinos. Subsequent reports want the island to have been also named as “Idrousa”, due to the innumerable sources and waters in the place, but also “Ofiousa”or “Fidousa” from the number of snakes (fidia) existing. According to some surveyors the last appellation has been wrongly interpreted, due to the fact that “Fides” or “Efides” is some kind of cedar that was flourishing on the island( Today we can find it only in the area of Panormos), and not reptiles. The special status this plant holds in the life of the Tinians can be ascertained by its wide use on buildings, like houses and stables, since it is solid and durable through dampness and clothes moth.
In the ancientry, Aristophanes in “Skordoforos” refers to Tinos for its prime quality garlic (Skordo), Callimachus refers to it in “Agathousa”, Aristotelian in “Idrousa”, and from Demosthenes and Echinus in “Erousa”. Today, Tinos also occupies the term “The island of Aeolus” because of its strong northers.

Mythology
Tinos "carries" its myths and traditions just like every place in Greece.
The mountain “Tsiknias”, the highest point of the island (714m) is attached with its mythology. Through the ancient Years it was called "giree petre" (old rocks) or “Gyros” and this due to the “Gyraieis”, one of the twelve tribes of Tinos, who inhabited in the southern part of the mountain. Due to Appollodorus, after the Argonaut campaign, “Argo” anchored near the island and both Children of “Borias” (Northern) and “Oritheias”, “Zitis” and “Kalain”, resorted on this mountain. Hercules was infuriated that “Borias” with his winds strangled his friend “Ila”, haunted them, killed them, and buried them separately in this place. It is said that when their father, “Borias”, found out about it, he mourned and because of his great anger let the winds free on the island, which fly into a rage until now.
Another myth is based on narrations of “Omirus”. In “Odyssey” is described that “Aiantas” (from Lokrid) during his come-back from “Troy” shipwrecked in Tinos and due to the fact that he committed contumely against “Poseidon”, the last killed him on “Tsiknias”. Other ancient sources report that in the same area God Aeolus or”Borias”
Was worshiped and the believers had founded there a sanctuary and a thorp. It is also said that “Tsiknias” inherited its name by the word “tsikna” (the smell from the meat roasting) when the animals were being sacrificed in honor to the God. The plethora of vases and other ceramic pieces also advocate in this version.
The relationship among the mountain, “Borias” and “Aeolus”, is so tight, that the mountain is always cloudy and its peak is often hiding behind thick fugue.

Historical Retrospect
Tinos, as the archaeological findings declare, has been inhabited from pre-historical years and it is one of the Greek islands that show signs of continuous inhabitance.
According to tradition, the first dwellers were the “Kares” and the “Leleges”.

Turks. After the manumission, the island met with success in every field and particularly in the Arts and civilization. It is also not fortuitous, that this period of time Tinos “gives birth” to important personalities. In the mean time it attends the nation’s battles, provides shelter to refugees and contributes substantially to the national opposition against the Germans wanting to gain mastery over Greece.

ANCIENT TINIAN COINS
The ancient coins that were discovered in Tinos provoke great interest, due to the fact that the figurations that are graven indicate considerable features of the island. One peculiar coin, which was also the most prevalent has the bust of the ancient God of Sea depicted on its one side, while on the other one there is a trident(symbol of that same God)environed by two dolphins. That is why we assume that Tinos through this specific coin, presented the naval power, it possessed. Other coins which reveal the opulent production of wine on the island depict either Bacchus holding grapes or thyrsus, either Zeus.


Important dates for the island
480 B.C During the years of Midas (492-479B.C), Tinos reverted to the Persians. However, according to Herodotus, the Tinian trireme having Panetius of Sosimenis as a leader, defects and joins, just before the Calamine battle, the Greek fleet, which also informs about the Persian plans. This Tinian daring contributed considerably to the Greek signal victory. The Panetius trireme is today the blazon of Tinos borough.
Platees Battle (479B.C) For the important provision of Tinos in this battle, the name  “ Tinos” is going to be written in  the dedicative Delphic trestle.
4th century A.C. Tinos adopts Christianism and the ancient Greek Dodekatheon is renounced, along with the Sanctuary of Poseidon and Amphitrite in “Kionia”, after centuries of worship.
Byzantine years. The island belongs to Greece and receives consecutive forays of the Characins and more other nations.
1207. Tinos overstepped in the ownership of the Venetians, primary as a dominion of
the Gkizi family (1207-1390), and subsequently until 1715, under the direct administration of the Saint Markos Democracy. The perennial presence of the Venetians and the special circumstances between them and the Tinian society played a very important role in how Tinos shaped its character. They made it the shelter of hunted Greeks, ensuring stability and respective safety. They affected the social synthesis with the creation of idiomorphic feudalism, the cultural and religious situation (Noteworthy is the presence of the Catholic dogma.)
1538. The island is being depredated by the Pirate Hairedin Barbarossa.
June 15th 1715. The Turks, after 11 abortive attempts and under complicity with the Venetians, they conquered the island, one of the last not enslaved places of Greece.
Their presence though is almost typical. Tinos, taking advantage of the favoritism, it spectacularly culminated.
It is Home-Ruled; it develops financially and augments the carrying trade and handicrafts. Particularly it rises to prominence, in marble sculpture as the biggest centre in Greece, with families which cultivate hereditary cal the Arts and circuit Greece, Asia Minor and the Balkans. Moreover the island’s traditions, religion and schools were well preserved but also the non taxation systems that the Tinian people were used to.
1771-1774. A brief Russian stay on the island during the revolution of the Orlof brothers.

created, building with dry stones elevatory walls (“benches”). This habit existed in Tinos from the ancient years. Already from the 4th century BC, testifications occurred that the habitants of the island used to give this format, those narrow bands of earth, to the islands atilt anaglyph. Indeed those “scales” were also called “ Trafos” (anagrammatism of the ancient Greek word (tafros) “trench”) and they formulated natural water tanks or acreages to cultivate. In this way, the surface becomes even, the ground is kept back and it doesn’t drift from the rains and from the inside part of the “scale” figs are planted or vineyards, so that they can protect from northerns but also hold in dampness. The farmers’ access into their property is allowed through narrow paths. Also built by dry stones lengthwise the borders of the fields, usually with steps due to the inclination of the ground, provide pleasure to the visitor, either when he elapses, either when he observes.
In the places where waters exist mostly in dells, the farmers prefer to create gardens with olives and citrus fruits. In this attempt, doldrums that prevail in those places play a very important role. In the low land of the island which is around the village “Komi” the fields are being protected from the animals with dikes, which also assist the preservation of dampness.

Villages of Tinos
The thorps of Tinos in their majority were established in the 17th century and it was then when they reached their peak. Their modulation was influenced by a variety of factors. The most important were the weather and the winds that prevail on the island, the ground’s morphology and the social and historical conditions. The invasions through sea during several historical periods obliged the locals to reunite in the inside of the island, building there the most of their boroughs. Built in the hinterland of Tinos surrounded by mountains (like the villages “Volax”, “Pyrgos”) they weren’t visible to the enemy. For that matter, the use of the domestic schist that is plentiful on the island contributed, as well as the closeness that the houses were built to each other. Surely, some boroughs of them have a view to the sea (for example the villages “Kardiani” and “Isternia”)but also conserved from the East from where the biggest danger derived. The severe winds that preponderate in the island and particularly the northerns, more forceful than on the other islands of the Aegean, prompted the building of the majority of the villages to take place, on the austral banks. The Tinian craftsmen, cleverly taking advantage of the anaglyph of the ground, they orientate the villages in such way, so that they can attain their exposure to the sun, good ventilation, but in the same time protection from the powerful winds.
Furthermore, some other weather phenomena conduced to the configuration of the Tinian house. The presence of belvederes comes from the lack of snow and the intense rainfalls, while the arches in the alleys of the thorps protect from rain and sun. Always near gulches and the brinks of the mountains, the Tinian thorps take advantage of the water supply and the fertility of the fields for their crops. In conclusion, the morphology of the ground and the local products played a really important role in the moulding of the villages and the construction of the houses with their position chosen according to the anaglyph of the island. The slope of the earth with the “scales”/ banquettes had as a result the gradational form of the villages. The island's bed of rocks was widely used by the local builders, the schist and the dry stones on the walls of the houses, the marble in the alleys and elsewhere, as much as each owner afforded.

The Tinian architecture is authentic. Moreover the Venetian presence on the island for many centuries, it did not adopt any western element. Only in some exceptions, we one of them shorter), where someone can sit and enjoy the magical view of the Aegean Sea. The role of the yard was and still is important, as the life and the society of the family develop around it. The equipment of the yard is anyway, past dispute: send bars, table,  flower beds, rests for pitchers, stares for the upper floor, or the terrace. The first floor connects with the ground floor and the road, usually with an outside staircase made of marble or slate clay. The main entrance, which in most houses is in the middle of the house’s face wall, between the windows, is decorated with lintels. On the roof of the house-terrace- beautiful chimneys exist, which create aesthetic pleasure with their frugal lines. In many houses at the highest point of the chimneys they place a clay jar. This ideal use of material gives an idea, how the practical and designing human needs can assimilate immaculately.
In the inside, the houses have quite frugal lines, with the only decorative characteristics being the semicircle arc “Volto” as they call it, in the middle of the lounge and the built niches in the wall (the pigeon holes). The “Volto” particular attribute of insular houses, helps to support the weight of the upper chamber. They are furnished indispensably, but also traditionally, furniture (buffet, chest of drawers, divan, and baht) which are covered with hand-crafted linen or apparel made on the drawloom, while from the windows are hanging curtains with insular laces. 
The standard of living in Tinos is high. Living proof is the complete separation of the animals from the family and the Tinian home something that didn't happen in other places in Greece. Specific areas exist for them beside and around the houses, like stables, hog pens, dovecotes and more.

 

THRESHING AND WILLOWING
The visitor of Tinos has the chance to see and admire one more creation made with artistry and desire by the experts of the Tinian rock: the threshing ground. It has circular shape with a 4-5m diameter, a paved with slabs floor and walls by upright ashlars 50-60cm high. Around the gap of the threshing ground, there is a stone string course. Outside the threshing ground the farmer has accumulated bundles of hay, which shape the cock of hey. At the beginning of July they start threshing. For this cause, the farmer usually brings two cows (sometimes one cow and one mule or donkey), which he puts them on the thrall, and after he throws in the threshing ground 8-10 bundles, he starts threshing. That means, that he passes round circularly, while he follows them and instigates them to run, for the hay to be rubbed and the harvest to be drawn apart. When he adjudicates that the hey is well stepped, he throws other bundles(throwing), until the cock of hey is finished. Whereas the threshing is done under the hot summer sun, the thresher accepts cool water, bread and cheese from the family members, who walk along with him on the string course.
The willowing follows the threshing, but for the farmer to willow, it has to blow a light breeze, whose strength and direction is ascertained by throwing some hay in the air. When he sees fit he starts the willowing procedure, usually very early in the morning. With the fan (“muck fork” something like a wooden trident) he throws the hay high in the air and the wind sweeps it beside and outside the threshing ground, where a huddle of straw is created, which later are going to be carried to the barn, to feed the animals for the winter. The harvest, the wheat and barleycorn, as heavier, gravitate in the threshing ground, for their bolt to follow, firstly with the sharpener and then with the sieve for a more specific clearance.
Afterwards, with cans, which also consist a capacity unit, they stuff sacks and that is how the harvest is transferred to the store room, and then to the mill for grinding.

Dovecotes
The dovecotes comprise the pigeons’ houses. Love for doves always existed. From the ancient years until Christianity with the Holly spirit. The Greeks have connected them with peace, love and tenderness. Poems and songs have been written in their honor but we also come across them, in traditional engravings, embroidery or paintings.
Dovecotes exist in other Cycladic islands too, but the most arresting are in Tinos. They have been closely interwoven with the island and they can be considered as its trade mark. The local architect knows that, in order to attract doves, the appropriate location must be found. That is why; they are built in the hinterland, in specifically chosen areas, near arable expanses and water sources, in mountain banks and gulches never on a mountain. This helps the flying of the birds, but also to find their way back. The existence of water near the structure is necessary, while it covers their needs.
Besides their functional cause of their existence, the dovecotes are signs of gracefulness and aristocracy. Hence, they were an honor for their owners, since they gave them radiance. They are considered as ornaments of the Tinian landscape and it is remarkable how one differs from the other. They are fair- sized, with rock built walls, whose lowest floors are used as warehouses for agricultural products and tools and the upper parts for the doves. Likewise the other architectural projects of Tinos, for the construction of the dovecotes local hardware is used (Slate clay and other rocks, whitewash). On the building there is only one small wooden door that is used for the entrance of the owner, but also for the protection of the doves from thieves, such as snakes and mice.
The dovecote builders used slate clay, to create rare decorations on one or more surfaces of the structure (rhombs, triangles, suns, cypresses and more). These decorative elements create one inconceivable harmonic image and have been appositely characterized as architectural embroidery. Each one separately, but also all together, comprises a set of rare monuments and are an expression of the popular Muse, unique in the whole world. Furthermore, such result is generated only when architecture gushes from proportional emotional need. Moreover the doves existed on the islands for many centuries; it seems that the Venetians developed their systematic breeding. While during the Venetian domination the dovecotes were the right of the Venetian conquerors (“droit de colombiers”), the locals configured them according to the folklore and made them theirs. The island’s most dovecotes were built during the 18th and 19th century.
That big the dove breeding was that the Tinian people exported them all over Greece, even to Smyrna, Istanbul and elsewhere. Their meat billing was very high, even in jars with vinegar, once it was and still is considered as aristocratic and very nutritious food. Even today, the locals cook and serve doves. However they breed them not only for their delicious meat but also for their excrements, which are considered to be part of the finest quality ameliorant. The specific number of dovecotes is not known, but it certainly exceeds 1000. Most of them are built in the central and east areas of the island, mostly in the valley of the village “Tarabados”, but also around “Tripotamos”.
Today effort is made, for the dovecotes of Tinos to be preserved. With voluntary contribution and surveys the Association “Friends of Green” has supported and continues supporting this challenge. Until now over 140 dovecotes have been gentrificated, while the target of this active Association is to reconstruct 1007.

Windmills

Masterpieces of Art made of marble may be found everywhere in Tinos. They are at the roads and the alleys of the island, at the churches and the houses and generally wherever you can look. The Tinian marble has been carved with love and imagination by efficient sculptors and technicians, and the marble adornments and engravings decorate all the places, where this stratum has been used. That way, it always vindicates the technician for his choice. The well known and unique Tinian marble, white or green, has been used and continues to be one of the first choices for the lining of monuments and architectural projects. Nevertheless, it isn't impressive that it was used at the Buckingham Palace and the Louvre.
The Tinian desire, consequence of intuition and love, achieved to make art treasures, using local material. Tinos, independently of its works of Art, which have been transported to other places of Greece and also the world, it keeps being and as well being called a “hypaethral museum of traditional marble sculpture”. Illustrative example of local art, are the churches, the cemeteries(mainly the graves in the villages “Pyrgos” and “Platia”), the Strongholds/Castles, the sources, the countrified wash houses, the semi circled  skylights over the doors and the windows, which decorate the houses and churches. It has to be mentioned that around 1845 on the island of Tinos, marble sculpture and architecture are main pre-industrial figures, which occupied more than a thousand wrights and technicians.

Marble Art- Marble Sculpture
The most outstanding sculptor of ancientry, Phidias, according to tradition he came to Tinos and taught his art and its secrets. That is also indicated by the large amount of archeological findings. The local marbles were also used for the construction of Poseidon’s and Amphitrite’s temple in “Kionia”, and the Tinian artists helped the construction of the Sanctuaries in “Dilos”. Furthermore, the quarries of the noted green marble in Tinos operated from the ancient years and mostly during the Roman and Palaio- Christian years.
The biggest development of the marble Art, took place after the Greek revolution, in 1830, hereat Tinos evolved to the largest centre of marble sculpture all over Greece, but also one of the biggest all over the world. The Tinian marble sculptors with the worldwide reputation they acquired, they glorified their island. Tinos its self, with its marvelous stratum, its anaglyph and generally the beauty of nature, inspired and inspires every artist. The sinuous coasts, the graven by nature rocks, the peaceful banks but also the wild life surrendered to the madding winds, which carve any kind of rock but also give great shapes but even the trees that flourish in the area, are a source of inspiration and they reinvigorate every visitor of the island. It is not occasional that all kinds of artists come to the island to be inspired and to create. Some of them even settle here and found their workshops.
In the development and progress of the Art on marble and rock, contributed some more factors:

reason for their absence are financial difficulties that the owner might have something that accredited prestige to the householder that could afford them.

CULTURAL ASSOCIATIONS
The love that the Tinian people have for their motherland, had been unique, something that can be proved by the around 50 cultural associations that are taking action today. There is no village or district in Tinos that does not have its cultural association. The beginning was made in 1876 when the fraternal association of the Tinian people living in Athens was founded and abuts in Alexandras and Asimaki Fotila Street. The rural depopulation that conquered the Greeks during the 50’s brought many Tinian people to the Capital. Their love though for their village, their church, their school, their ancestors’ houses, made them create associations for every village separately. Apparently in the middle of the 40’s the first associations begin to appear, like in “Karia” and “Kardiani”.
The project that they develop is really unique, and to a great extent them the preservation of customs is owed to them, as well as the protection of the villages' architecture from urban planning presumptions.
Beyond their offers to projects of common gaining, it is worth to mention their important interference in the preservation of dovecotes, alleys, arrack making, windmills, thresholds and the dry stone walls.
Worthy of remark is also, the performance of cultural events with classic scientists as speakers on educational, religious, traditional and cultural matters. The island’s visitor has the chance, mainly during the summer, to choose from a number of significant events the one that interests him and at the end of the event to enjoy Tinian confectionary and arrack.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

TINIAN PRESS
In 1877 the first newspaper of the island appeared with the name “Tinos” with Mr. Nik.Aggelidis as the headmaster, while the “Voice of Tinos” followed in 1881.During those 130 years over 60 newspapers have been published, others with a lasting and others with a transitory presence. Their contribution in the prominence and promotion of the cultural inheritance of the island is very important, while they still are the link between Tinian people-wherever they are-and their birthplace. Furthermore, the times are not few that the Tinian Press blocked the progress of the environment’s alienation even when running against interests. Today, the below newspapers and magazines are circulating:
“ The Cycladic Light”(1950)
“ Tinos Pharos”(1959)
“ Isterniotika”( News from Isternia)(1983)
“Tinian Interests”(1993)
“The Voice of Karya” (1998)
“Kardiani’s News” (1999)
“Mantata”( recent news in slang)(2000)
“Tinian Hinterland” (magazine-2002)
“Tinos Citizen” (news-letter of Tinos borough)
“In action” (news-letter of Exoburgo borough)

THE CITY ( “CHORA”)

The history of the city (Chora), the capital of Tinos begins from the ancient years. However with its today’s shape, it goes back to the interval between 1715- 1745. Like neighborhoods of Pallada and Saint Eleftherios- Heavy. The picturesque paths with the white houses and the spruce yards with the bloomed flowers and jasmines that hang and magnetize the eyes, stopping the time and reminding passed ages. Great interest also presents the temple of the   Seneschals, at the port, after it harbored temporarily the image of the Annunciation from its finding until its transfer to the Temple of Virgin Mary. The alley where nowadays bars are accumulated, it sometime comprised a path of commerce, where the monopoly of oil and salt had been going on. The monument of “Elli”, which currently has been erected at the port, designed by the local sculptor N. Paraskeuas, gives another dimension to the torpedo of the historical cruiser, raising its stature at any weather. Another interesting destination is the weaving place in “Chora” which is placed at the old road with the shops. There you can admire the traditional handmade embroidery, but also observe Tinian women working on the drawloom. The errantry in the City of Tinos can not exclude the Tinian Culture Institution, which impressively preponderates at the edge of the port.  
At the eastern point of the port there is the cape “Pasakrotiri”, the imposing cape-rock, with the unique view either to the sea or the rest island.  From here you can hold an integrated aspect of the City. On the rock is built the memorial of the warriors lost in the Balkan Wars. For restless visitors, and especially for those who adore History and Archeology, a stroll at the ancient town and its walls, which spread behind the Temple of Virgin Mary, is a special destination, while the errantry in the natural scenery with the historic remnants fulfils the choice of this route. The residency and entertainment in the town of Tinos is an easy matter, thus hotels and rooms to let of any class exist in every neighborhood. The public services (Police, Hospital, Citizen Service Center, Intellectual Centre) accommodate the public. There are also innumerable taverns, traditional restaurants, but also restaurants for more demanding tasters everywhere. Apart from those, there are cafeterias, bars, confectioneries and traditional caffee houses that are plenty.

Tinian Culture Institution
It was founded in 2002 and it is housed in a neo-classical building among the island's most historical (Beginning of the 20th century), which has also been a hotel and Hospital (Polymer “Polymerio”). It was bought in 1977 and was recently gentrificated by the Greek Holly Institution of Annunciation, from where it preserves itself, and comprises the ornament for the City. The Institution's mission is to study and feature the History, culture and tradition of the island.  It incorporates modern session and exhibition rooms, but also a Library with titles that concern Tinos  and the Cyclades in general. Several exhibitions take place here and also the permanent exhibition of the great Tinian sculptor Giannoulis Halepas.

 

The touristic market of Tinos

The errantry in the town of Tinos requires the stroll at the old street that leads from the port to the temple of Virgin Mary. Here, time has stopped a long time ago and the scene reminds us of the markets of Istanbul and Cairo. The numerous shops, small and bigger, with their merchandise outstretched on the tiled floor, fill with voices and color the passers, who magnetize, and with difficulty “step out of this fairytale”. Here any kind of Tinian souvenir exists. Small and big icons, local embroidery, jewellery and strings of beads, traditional confectionery and whatever the mind travels is in front of the eyes of the passer-by, who in many cases is invited by the shopkeeper to stand and see them. As approaching the temple of Virgin Mary, outdoors wooden kiosks sell mostly wax candles in every size, oblations, dedications and small bottles

“Triantaros”
It is a big “lively” village with the traditional elements preserved but also with many new houses where foreign people inhabit. It has a great view, many arches, narrow alleys and steps, while the church of the Disciples overhangs in the middle of the village. The repaired olive oil press and the water source “Lefkes” ( due to the trees that abound in the area) attract the passers. At the entrance of the village and beside the war memorial there is the bust of “ Ambrosias Pleanthidis”, bishop of “Moshonisia” and national holly martyr, designed by the sculptor N. Paraskeuas, while in the village there is also the bust of the local citizen “ Gregory Plianthis”, eparch of Halkida for 50 years. From here descend many traditional “builders” of the island. The village has designated personalities such as Ioannis Kardamitsis(lyceum  administrator, mayor of Tinos and president of P.I.E.T) and Savvas Apergis (educator, scholar- writer and mayor of Tinos). Here also operate a traditional bakery and taverns-cafeterias. The village’s association often mounts traditional festivals, such as pork slaughters and the ripping carnival ball.

THE CARNIVAL BALL
Formerly, at the village "Triantaros", during the days of the carnival, the villagers uphold the tradition of the carnival ball. For 21 days, as long as the carnival endured, the inhabitants of the village returned at home at night and entertained themselves with extemporary songs. Starting with the verses:
Begin my tongue, begin
A song to string out
And our nice company
To entertain, they continued with caustic and erotic verses. In the meantime they danced impromptu and satiric dances according to the rhythm of the cantos and the conviviality.
Today, attempts are being made by the people of "Triantaros" and the association of the village, for the rebirth of this original tradition.

“Mperdemiaros”
It is a small picturesque thorp- the little sibling of "Triantaros"- built on the glacis, with its houses “clambered”. After a period of depopulation, its houses were mostly inhabited by Europeans, who kept the traditional style unalterable either in those they built either in the ones which they demodernized.

“Two Villages” (Dio Horia)
This village with the panoramic view to the Aegean and the close to Tinos islands has bountiful water sources and green, as well as a healthy climate. According to tradition, the equivalent natural sources were dedicated to the five Nymphs of the village. Its name comes from the two villages that existed in the area and they were separated by a river. Afterwards, due to the reconstruction, those two villages united. Its square with the platans is one of the most beautiful of the island, while a centenarian platan partners the source. Here the association “Glisterni” of the village, lancinates lambs during the Easter and mounts festivals with dances. At the two edges of the village there are its two cathedras, Saint John’s and the Dormision’s. It is worth to walk through the traditional path that connects the village with the conterminous villages “Arnados” and “Triantaros”. During the summer seasons a cafeteria operates and a tavern with delicious dishes and a marvelous view. From here you can get to the beaches “Lihnaftia” and “Fero Horio”.

The three brothers Lampraki, come from “Mountados”. The first one, John (1851-1916), was the formal photographer of the Olympic Games of 1896, as well as the Royal Family’s. The second one, George (1854-1914), studied Christian archeology and was one of the foundation members of the “Christian Archeological Company”. Furthermore, it is him we owe the preservation-rescue of “Dafni” Monastery, while in the same time he had been a professor of Christian archeology in the Athens University. The third one, Emmanuel (1859-1909), a painter, studied in the School of Arts and continued in the Academy of the Monk with Nickolas Gizis as his professor and a scholarship by P.I.E.T. Pieces of his were rewarded in several exhibitions and in 1905 founded the School of Painting. In conclusion, from 1903 until 1909, when he died, he had been a professor in the School of Arts.

“Karya”
The village being built on the doldrums and the green area of the bank, it distinguishes for its position, while it is near “Xomburgo” with a view at the bank of mountain “Kehrovounio” with the chapels, the dovecotes and the Monastery which overhangs on the top, but also the town which “matches” with the blue of the Aegean Sea. It isn’t random, that it consists one of the most ancient villages, as the name reveals: Karia< Kares (it is also said that it was named after the walnuts “ Karidia” which abounded in the area), but also was an important head-village, either during the Venetian period or afterwards. It is worth mentioning that it was here that operated the first cheese-dairy on the island, while a female school, lyceum, and afterwards a school also existed. Today, some old mansions but also three more parochial churches (Saint Eleytherios, Saint Dimitrios and Madonna’s dormition) shed the passed brilliance. The new built houses, according to the traditional standards, the beautiful yards, the cobbly alleys, the drinking fountains and the beautiful circle square provoke the visitors to walk around the village.  Its burghal bocage, the only one on the island, protected, is a registered trademark with its, after Byzantine built church of Virgin Mary's Dormition, hidden in it, and the war memorial, piece of Art of “Evriviadis Lampaditis”. From here come, “Hatzigeorgakis Siotis”, a great benefactor of Virgin Mary, “John Ant. Siotis”, who had been Minister of education of the revolutionary government, 1922-1923, as well as the first woman sculptor of the Cyclades, “Irene Hariatis”. Here also exists an interesting folkloric museum, which is housed in the old elementary school, property of the village’s association. A marble laboratory is also operating, as well as a carpentry laboratory and a tavern beside the ravine with the old well under the shadow of the trees. The active cultural association publishes a newspaper “The Voice of Karia” and with all sorts of festivals and activities continues to feature the tradition and culture of this historic village, and Tinos in general.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

SUMMER FESTIVALS IN KARYA
In 1996 the association of Karia, after having completed 50 years of creative progress, began to fulfill open festivals at the square of the village. Those festivals continue their existence until today and they are considered as an estate for the island, being attended by hundreds of the association’s friends.
History, culture, language, tradition, religion is the coverage of those festivals, while their integral presentation by outstanding Tinian scientists contribute in their successful advance. Topics like “Greek language and glossography in Tinos” , “The history of Xomburgo”, The role of the clergy in the progress of the Orthodox church”, ”Modern Tinian poets”, Tinian press and its history”, “Ships of the past century”, are only some of those that have been already presented.It is a traditional village with a view to “Kionia”, with large houses decorated with lintels, paved with slabs alleys and arches. At the entrance of the village the church of the "Holly cross" distinguishes, with the significant bell tower (Catholic) which is dated in the 17th century, and further away the Hypapante(Big eyed) with the unique marble entrance(Orthodox). The old tap with the rock laundresses completes the picturesque village. A tavern and a traditional cafeteria also operate in the village.

A CUSTOM OF LOVE IN THE VILLAGE “KTIKADOS”
Every year on Easter’s Monday, after the Mass ends at the villages cathedra, the Hypapante, a procession of the Resurrection icon takes place around the village. On twelve o’ clock at noon the ring of the bell invites all the locals, but also the visitors, at a Communal table as it is named, a room under the church, with a capacity of 300 people. They all together sit there and eat soup from veal, roast meat and a variety of appetizers, as the custom dictates, cooked by the women of the village. After the meal a chant fallows and a speech by the parish priest and afterwards a memorial service to every parish priest that had ever passed from the chapelry and for the villagers’ souls. After the Sanctus comes to an end, the tray of the church “comes out” for the villagers to contribute for the preservation of Love.

“Hatzirados”
It is a picturesque village with a beautiful view, paths paved with flagstones, white houses and yards filled with flowers. It is embellished by the cathedra of the trinity, dated from 1850, while at the square there is the second parish church, the old Trinity, which was renamed. At the entrance of the village there is a tavern-cafeteria.

“Kampos”
It is placed in the center of the island, in the fertile valley of the Tinian hinterland. The church of Saint Catherine in the village (Orthodox) is a remnant of the brief Russian dominance on the island, with a remarkable carved chancel screen. It was built in 1771, in honor of the empress Catherine the great, of Russia, under the supervision of G. Dorizas and the Russian fleet's chief, financial support, admiral Orlof. The second church, the Trinity (Catholic), stands out for its substantial paved with pebbles yard. From here comes nun Pelagia(afterwards Saint), who dreamt of Virgin Mary. At the edge of the village there is the old elementary school, which was conceded by the borough of Xomburgo, so as to be transformed into the museum “Costas Tsoklis”. It is the only museum of this classic artist and it still comprises an attraction for the village’s visitors and Tinos in general. In the territory of “Kampos” was operating until recently the last windmill, which is the most integral on the island. The village's traditional well with the laundresses is preserved until today. Here, the bakery bakes tasty sea bread, while there is also a cafeteria.

HONEY CELEBRATION (15/09)
On the 15th of September, at the village “Kampos” they celebrate the production of honey. Every bee-master/ producer of honey brings samples of their new production and offers to everyone that has been there to celebrate this “sweet” custom. A treat with honey-arrack follows, local confections, rich eating and as it is natural, the necessary supplement of a celebration like this; violins and dancing with traditional songs, “Sirtos” and “Mpalos”.

“Tarampados”

drinking fountains that are all over witness, even in the houses. Furthermore, it is not random that the area consists one of the most ancient places that witness life on the island. This is also proved by the discovery of the geometrical tombs in the area and the existence of the plateau “War’s valley”. In the village orthodox inhabit with their Cathedra being the Holly Trinity but also catholic with their two churches, “Metastasis of Virgin Mary” and “Virgin Mary's birthday”. Picturesque, paved with slabs, alleys with arches and steps but also houses with marvelous architecture, a proof of the artistic temperament of the villagers, decorate the village and provoke the visitor to explore it. It has two cultural Associations, the “Holly Trinity” and the “ Tinian people of Kardiani brotherhood”. The historian-researcher Stefanos Delatolas comes from here. There is a traditional coffee house-grocery, as well as a tavern. In conclusion, anyone that wants to combine their stroll with swimming, three beaches are offered, the cove “Giannaki” with taverns, “Kalivia” and “Saint Pitter” with the homonymic chapel.

“Isternia”
It is one of the biggest villages in Tinos, clambered on the bank of the mountain “Meroviglia”, with a fantastic view to Syros, a real balcony on the Aegean. It is located at the southwestern (“Isterna”) side of the island, and it also owes its name to that.  Due to its position, close to marble deposits, the village is liberally clad with this stratum. On the houses, the lintels, the yards, the drinking fountains, the busts and the statues that have sculpted local sculptors, the steps, even the ground, wherever the imagination of every builder can go, white distinguishes. The square “N. Glini” with the bust of the village’s benefactor attracts the visitors to rest in the shade of the old plane and to refresh at the drinking fountain. The Byzantine church of Saint Paraskeui, with the marble “muffle” inside out, at the centre of the village, is a real object of virtue, forasmuch as many of the village’s artists have contributed to its decoration. From here come many considerable sculptors such as, Ant. Sohos, L.Lameras, G. Kirarinis, I. and Fr. Malakate, and the Fitali brothers. A museum operates in the village, where pieces of the village’s artists are exhibited. The cultural Association of the village publishes the newspaper “Ta Isterniotika” (news of Isternia) since 1983 and with the events that it organizes it continues the tradition and culture. At the village there are coffee houses, a grocery store, a tavern, rooms to let, as well as a marble sculpting laboratory. A road leads to the cove and the beach “Shinaki”, where rooms for rent operate and sea food taverns. At the northern part of the island we come across impressive landscapes, where remnants of an array of many windmills have been saved, signs of passed glory, that have been characterized as listed monuments. Near this area the church of the second Finding is places that was built there after the rescue of the Annunciation icon, when it was stolen.

 

GEORGE VITALIS

He was born in “Isternia” in 1840 from an architecture father, who, he didn’t follow professionally. He studied sculpting at the technical college of Athens and after seven years he graduated with a first prize. He continued in the Academy of Arts in Monaco where he rose to prominence and he was proposed to teach there. He preferred though, to return to Greece and particularly in Syros, where he founded a marble sculpting laboratory, where he housed many remarkable sculptures that dignify “Ermoupolis”, such as the marble chancel screen of Saint Nickolas. Furthermore, he decorated the palace and the mansions of Athens, while Harilaos Trikoupis, appraising his work, kept asking his opinion for the artworks, with which he was

It is a small picturesque village with a pyramidal structure and a nice view. It is placed on the bank of “Kehrovouni”, with the church of Saint Anna built at its highest point. On the day of her name day, in the summer, it draws round crowds of people for the renowned festival and the hospitality of its habitants. In the green dell there is a traditional well (a source with laundresses) and running water.

“Kehros”
It is one more small and hospitable village with pretty houses and the church of Virgin Mary (mirtiotissa) with its bell tower setting apart. It is known for the Art of the sack saddle makers which formerly flourished and for the many confectioners who operate in Athens and elsewhere.

“Mesi” (Middle)
It is placed on a hub of the area’s road network (from where the name comes from), since at the borders of “Mesi”, at “Pentostrato”, five central high roads unite which lead to every village on Tinos. It is a village with a few arches and a beautiful square in its middle and with a remarkable church of the Taxiarchs at its entrance. Here you can come across the monastery of Saint Francesco which houses the museum of agricultural tools, but also taverns and a traditional confectionary and bread laboratory. Worthy of remark is the presence of the village's Association.

“Steni”
It is a head village and until recently a separate community, placed at the foothill of “Tsiknias”. The habitants, orthodox and catholic, cohabitate dearly as the years pass by. Saint Antony, at the thorp “Kamari”, cathedra of the orthodox element, is an old church with a delicate wood carven chancel screen, pulpit and overbearing. At the lower “Steni”, Saint Nickolas of the catholic is a beautiful and newly refurbished church. The village has plenty arches, traditional houses but also modern ones, while it also has an infant school, an elementary school, a private practice, two grocery stores, a butcher’s shop, an electrical shop and a bodywork shop. Taverns, coffee houses and cafeterias fulfill the demands of the visitors. During the summer months, the folkloric museum operates, founded in 2000 with the collaboration of the two Associations of the village, “Tsiknias” and “Saint Antony”. Here are exhibited mostly old (up to 2 centuries) household utensils, many of them being original and highly interesting. Those two Associations present a remarkable cultural activity. It has a great tradition in athleticism and has brought up many outstanding athletes (Fr. Alvertis).           

                     
POEM “ To xorio mou” ********

 

“Koumaros”
It is a small traditional village on Tinos, built on the abrupt slope of the mountain “Fourka”, under the shadow of the imposing rock of Xomburgo. It faces the valley from above and the most villages of the Tinian hinterland. An old path connects the village with the old castle of Xomburgo. There is a coffee house which operates with a Swiss system and everyone can be self serviced. Near by, there is the old derelict monastery of the Ursulines and the chapel of Saint Aggela, founder of the brotherhood.

“Volax”
This village is built in the most unique landscape, not only of the island, but also of the rest of the world. The white houses with the flourished yards are whipped in among the granite blocks offering a remarkable spectacle. The only laboratories of basketry of the island operate here and the elderly technicians show with pride their art to the visitors. An outdoors small theatre gives a special note to the village, while a folkloric museum is also available.

THE PHENOMENON OF THE LANDSCAPE IN "VOLAX"
One of the sights of Tinos is the landscape of the village “Volax”. The visitor comes across a remarkable phenomenon: enormous circle rocks are all over a boundless territory. The big and small rock pellets, that have given their name to that beautiful picturesque village that stands among and on them, provoke the interest and query for the way, in which they were created and took these shapes. The specialists advocate that granite existed here. As the time went by and after the postulated corrosions and detritions, pieces of it, extracted from one another. Their today’s circle shape is owed to external factors, like dampness, the changes of the temperature and the wind. On the other hand, myths want the phenomenon to be rendered to meteorites, to the Titan fights or simply to the sea that someday covered this area. In either way, the scenery is marvelous and vindicates every visitor.

“Xinara”
On the slope of Xomburgo is this village, built among pines and palm trees, with the old houses and the two Catholic churches at the edges, Virgin Mary of Rothario (Metropolis of the Catholic Archbishop) and of the Apostles Pitter and Paul. During the mediaeval years here was the island's centre of trading and merchandising. At its entrance, a big building stands out, headquarter of the Catholic Archbishop of Tinos, where the few passed years the Xomburgo borough is housed. It the “Despot’s Palace” the seminarists’ studying room operated, while today there is the archive of the catholic parishes (the oldest In Tinos) and an ecclesiastic heirlooms museum, where items from 23 different parishes of the island and other Cycladic islands are exhibited.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

THE ARCHIVE OF THE CATHOLIC ARCHBISHOP OF TINOS
The archive is housed at the headquarter of the Catholic Archbishop of Tinos in the village “Xinara”. It is mainly ecclesiastical, but it also includes documents regarding the life of the Tinian villagers, during the past centuries. The oldest document, which is dated since 1390, concerns the catholic community and due to its nature it continuously augments.
The archive consists of three sections:

It owes its name to the homonymic plant and it is built in a verdurous ravine where the visitor can stop on his way to "Komi" for a pleasant and refreshing break. It is the motherland of the doctor-philosopher Markakis Zalonis, writer of the Tinian history in 1809. The village has coffee houses and picturesque taverns.

“Monasteries”
It is an abandoned village. The scenery is brilliant and reminds of an outdoor museum. Moreover, here exhibitions are organized. The whitewashed church of Saint Joseph, at the entrance of the village, preponderates over the ruins of the houses creating a contrast.

“Sklavohorio”
It is small village, very well hidden from the others but with a unique view to the wild northern side of Tinos and the village “Agapi”. It is worth to mention the church of the Holly Trinity, as well as the laundress that was constructed in 1821. The great painter Nicholas Gizis comes from here and you can visit his paternal house. It is the only mere orthodox village among the catholic villages of the Tinian hinterland.

NICKOLAS GIZIS
He was born in 1842 in “Sklavohorio” of Tinos. From his childhood started to work on sketching and all sorts of diagrams. In 1850 his family settled in Athens and his father wanted him to be a carpenter in the small carpentry laboratory he had. With the help of his mother Nickolas studies for one year in the Technical School of Athens. According to the school’s rules, the students attending should be twelve years old, Nicholas was only eight. By the right of a certificate that presented him four years older he completed his studies in 1861. In 1865 he earns a scholarship from the Holly Foundation of the Annunciation of Tinos, and studies in Munich for seven years and excelled, following his own personal brushwork. In 1872 when he returns to Athens he creates a painting laboratory and two years later goes back to Munich, as he was obligated due to his scholarship. He is being awarded by the top critics of Munich for his work and he gets elected as a tactical professor of fine arts in the Academy of Munich in 1888. On December of 1900 he passes away, in Munich, among his friends and family, despersing sadness in the artistic world, his students and the Greek community of Munich. Dead centre of his coverage is the human being in an idealistic environment, specific events of family life but also the world of children where he expresses his character.
Apart from the East that he visited with his friend N. Litras, he has been influenced by archeological topics and mythological configurations the most important among them being the one of a woman holding a Lyra. During the last years of his life, the artist within religious pieces expresses his existential agony. The environment here plays a secondary role, while the light and darkness dominate. Some of his most important pieces are “The secret school”, “The kissing” and more.

“Agapi”
It is one of the most traditional and hospitable villages of the island, spread on the slope with a specific architecture, arches, lintels, paved with slabs alleys and a well. The river and the well preserved dovecotes provoke the visitor to explore it. The remarkable church of Saint Agapitos has given its name to the village. There is a coffee house and a tavern, and from here you can be led to the contiguous Virgin Mary (Vourniotissa)

It is a big village at the edge of the field in “Komi” with a lot of Green and beautiful arches. Its old name “Kelia” refers to monk cells that existed in the area. It is worth visiting the great church of Saint Zaharias, one of the biggest in Tinos, with its pebbly yard but also the Monastery of Saint Hypakoi. The pork slaughters, although they are being held in many villages, here turn into festivals, while on the last Sunday of the carnival the locals preserve the custom of burning down the carnival sight. Formerly, there used to be carpet making school operating in the village. The last few years there is a road connecting “Kalloni” and the villages around with the main road “Chora-Pyrgos”. The village has a coffee house, a tavern, a grocery store and more.

THE PORK SLAUGHTERS
In the most villages in Tinos, during the autumn months, the pork slaughters are being held, a custom that exists many years, through a long ceremony not only with the presence of the family that holds them, but nearly the whole village. Days before the slaughter of the pork the women pick up, blight and grate flavourings along with salt, while the house and the yard is being cleaned, as well as the surroundings. The men take care of enough wood to be available that will be used for the slaughter. In the middle of October, when the temperature starts to drop and the rain comes, the villagers assign the date that the pork will be slaughtered. The weight of it comprises a benchmark and pride for its owner, since, a well fed pork can get over 200 kg that means enough meat and fat for the family for the year. The pork slaughter is being done very early in the morning with the participation of co-villagers and wishes are being given to the family man for the pork to be “well eaten”. The cleaning of the slaughter house follows, while the girls treat the participants with arrack along with prunes, almonds, walnuts, delights and more. Thereafter the animal is being held high on a hook for its segmentation, while its umbles are being fried or cooked by the housewife for launch. Part of the animal, turns into sausages and “Louza”, while the skin and fat are being melted in boilers, to turn into fur. To the dinner except for the participants the village’s priest, the rest of the villagers and friends are also invited. The tables with the spotless table linen are covered apart from the delicious pork, with local eating, salads, Tinian cheese, olives as well as local wine, offering inimitable moments to the banqueters. Many times, the violin and the lute complete this special ceremony. This procedure is repeated by all the households during  Autumn and the beginning of Winter.

“PANORMOS” COMMUNITY
“Platia”
“Platia” is located on the way to Pyrgos, viewing the northern side of Tinos and the sea of “Panormos”. The parish church, “Virgin Mary's birthday” is particularly considerable for its marble artistic decoration. The war memorial listing the burghers of "Panormos" that took part in the Balkan Wars is also important, a piece of the great sculptor Michael Kouskouris. The base of the memorial, which stands on local rocks, presents a complex of flags, gun-fires, cannons and laurel branches, while on its top there is an eagle. The village has a museum of ecclesiastical heirlooms and a tavern.

“Venardados”

Just before “Pyrgos” we come across “Venardados” built amphitheatrically, according to the ground’s sloping, with old traditional houses, as well as the well. It has as a cathedra "Saint John the Theologist", with a marble chancel screen, and the hagiographies of Nickolas Gaitis, hagiographer and chanter, whose motherland is

He was born in the beginning of the 1850's decade in "Pyrgos". His father was a marble sculptor and this contributed to his aptitude to the Arts of Marble sculpting from a very young age. After his apprenticeship at the Lyceum in Syros and while his parents were destining him for a merchandiser he managed to persuade them to attend in 1869-1872 at the School of Arts in Athens. His performance struck with surprise his professors; he soon took his degree of a sculptor with excellence and left the next year with a scholarship by the Holly Foundation of the Annunciation of Tinos for the School in Munich. When he returned to Athens, he rented a small ground floor store and he set his lab. In this lab he completed his work on "The Satyr who plays with Love" and started working on his most famous sculpture; "The sleeper" which is located in the A' cemetery in Athens. In 1878 gets a nervous break down and as a result he ruins a lot of his works, while he, many times, tried to suicide. The first period of the artist's works ends here, the most creative and important. After visiting specialists in the country and abroad, his relatives decided to put him in the psychiatric clinic in Kerkira, while his whole time being there the doctors and guards forbid him to draw and everything he creates they destroy it. The same happens when he is transferred to his home in Tinos under the strict supervision of his mother, who doesn't allow any contact with Art, neither coal nor clay. After her death, in 1916, and having been totally exscinded from his Art, the artist becomes a shepherd carrying the stigma of a lunatic. Nonetheless, he finds the power to construct some pieces of clay. With the noise that several Art critics are making about his abandonment by the Government, he emerges from obscurity and in 1927 the Athens Academy rewards him with the blue ribbon of Arts. In 1930 the second period of his works that mirror his disturbed psychological situation, is completed. The last years of his life he will live and start working again in the house that his niece has accorded to him in Dafnomili Street in Athens until his death in 1938. The works of the third period are of lower according to his Art.
Giannoulis Halepas belongs to the top sculptors of the recent Greek Art. His pieces refer to classicism, but in the meanwhile their geometrical structure assigns something modernistic. The expressiveness of the faces and the bodies that he shapes, either being the "satyr", either Medea or the sleeper, is egregious, it magnetizes every observer and places Halepas on the opposite of Rodin.

NIKIFOROS LYTRAS
In 1832, an other great artist was born in "Pyrgos"; Nikiforos Lytras. He studied in Athens after his teacher's encouragement, who detected his flair for painting. He attended the School of Arts in the Athens Technical School and then with a governmental scholarship in Munich. His progress provoked his teachers' admiration and he was offered a position as a professor in the Academy which he though rejected and returned to Greece. In 1866 he was assigned professor of the Athens School of Arts, where he taught for 38 years until his death, in 1904, and he was loved by his students for his mild and genial character. He was acknowledged as much in his country as internationally for his pieces. He was the official portraitist of the Athens high society and with his psychographic penetration he enhances the personal elements of each person. His two travels to the East along with his friend Gizis, enrich his coverage with exotic details like negroes. Among his most important pieces are; "The Carols", "The bather" and more.

DIMITRIOS FILIPPOTIS

The Church of Virgin Mary's Annunciation
The first thing one comes across when arriving at the port of Tinos with the ship, is the bell tower of the church of Virgin Mary's Annunciation and the marvelous church that preponderate on a hill above the town. It comprises a lifetime destination for many Christian believers and a beloved one for those interested in religion, Art and history. This church is directly connected with the history of Tinos, but also economy and tourism. Its architecture fallows the island's tradition but is also influenced by the West and the East. It has been built on ruins of an old Christian church dedicated to Saint John Prodromos, while an ancient sacred precinct, in honor of Dionysos, already existed. The church of Virgin Mary is a block of a two floor building that houses the main Sanctuary on the upper floor and many other outbuildings incorporated to its yard. It has three transepts with broadened and elevated the middle transept, which is separated by the two side ones with colonnades. Above the main entrance of the church, anyone can see a marble lintel with the two vivid archangels and between them, the graven inscription of the creators' names.
The thaumaturge icon of the Annunciation is located on the left when entering positioned on a marble faldstool.  The wooden icon "wounded" by a previous fire, but also broken in to two pieces by the hit of the labourer during its finding, seems brilliant, covered by innumerable adornments and dedications by the first pilgrims. Among the valuables, the faces of Virgin Mary and the archangel Gabriel can be distinguished. Some allege that the icon was created by the evangelist Luke, while others date it later. From an identical copy we know that the scene of the Annunciation is portrayed with the angel offering the lily on the left and Virgin Mary kneeled with devotion on the right. The church is full with oblations left by innumerous believers, with which they express their prayers and their gratitude for the miracles that Virgin Mary has done. Among those, the silver orange tree, distinguishes on the right of the entrance, a tree that a blind man saw and healed, the ship with the stuck fish on its craft, dedicated by a captain who was saved from a certain drown and many others that one can observe around. All these along with the rest decorations, the fretwork of severe beauty and the gold-filled chancel screen, the pulpit and the despot's artistic throne provoke the reverence of every visitor.
Under the main Sanctuary there is the one of the Life-giving Source. Here the pilgrim can get holy water from the source that sprang and dirt from the place that the icon was found.
In the buildings that surround the yard, offices, museums and other services of the foundation and the visitors' needs are housed. Furthermore, in the yard there is the bottle-fountain, donation of an infidel, who attributed his cure to Virgin Mary.
Beside the church stands the imposing bell tower. Stone at its base, it rises up to 30 meters with three marble lanterns. It was created by John Filippotis based on a project designed by Anastasios Orlandos. With its sublimeness and its sonorant bells
that resound in the entire Town and the around villages, it comprises the trademark of the Virgin Mary's block, but also of the Capital, while it is the first thing the visitor sees from the ship.

THE ICON'S FINDING

In the beginning of the 19th century at the monastery of "Kehrovouni" there was a nun named Pelagia. She had the dream of Virgin Mary telling her the area where they should dig to find her icon. This dream was repeated three times until the nun was convinced and addressed to the authorities, which organized the research for the icon. After unsuccessful results they threw in their hands, but after the plague that

church, the Virgin Mary's yard, and the pavement of the Megaloharis Street to listen to; " During the birth you kept your virginity, during your death you haven't abandoned the world..." All night the psalmody and the bells bond with the invocations and the grief of the people that call in for her sake. And when it dawns impenetrability exists not only in the church, but also around it, in the streets, the square, the port and where ever the procession passes from. After the primatial Mass comes to an end that it is being held in the church in a solemn and moving atmosphere, the procession starts towards the "Pantanassis" square with the burghal philharmonic, the marine force, the icon which the marines carry, the whole clergy, State and local authority representatives and all those private citizens. As it heads to the port, they push each other to get to the middle of the street so for the icon to pass above them, to touch it, to beg for miracles to happen. Along with the chanting and the music you can hear desperate voices, begs and invocations, but also happy voices of gratitude for the miracle that happened to them. At the square, on a platform Te Deum is being held, panegyrics are being announced by religious and political representatives, while an honorary crop with a State representative repair to the area, where the cruiser "Elli" had sunk, to ascribe honors to the lost men of the crew due to an Italian craven attack on the same day of 1940.
In conclusion, the icon returns the same way back to the church, leaving to everyone's soul awe and hope.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

ARCHEOLOGICAL PLACES
"KIONIA" TINOS
"Kionia" is considered as one of the most important places of worship of the ancient Greeks, directly incident to the foundation and life duration of the ancient "Town" of Tinos from the 4th century BC. It comprises the only place in the Cyclades that it is diametrically dedicated to Poseidon, the god of the sea. According to witnesses, the god was worshiped also as a doctor during the ancient years. Furthermore, an uplift of adoration is being observed of doctors considered as heroes. At the end of the 4th century BC the successors of the Alexander the Great and mainly the royal households of Antigonides and Lagides hold in their hands the fate of the Cyclades and organize building programs, in which the Sanctuary of Poseidon in Kionia might have been included. A proof of their influence must also be the eight-ray star that decorates the panel of the roof of the drinking fountain, a beloved theme in Macedonia that was also found in Fillip's tomb.

Some evidence of pre-historical inhabitance was found in the western area of the Sanctuary, without though any continuance being confirmed until the middle of the 4th century BC, when the first signs of worship in the area are dated. The same period, the borough and the administrative machinery were transferred from "Xomburgo" to the today's town of Tinos, while at the end of the same century the first monumental buildings appear in the area "Kionia". Before its foundation there are testimonies that another Sanctuary already existed there, built in a garden. It is said that marines and anyone that traveled appealed there, to placate the sea god, so to have a good trip and to achieve without problems to get across on the island of Delos, where they would do their pilgrimage. The reconstruction of the brilliant temple of Poseidon and Amphitrite, as we mentioned above, is dated in the middle of the 4th century BC. Its order is Doric- rigorous and simple, but with an original touch, like the drinking fountain-platform that are owed to the Tinian inspiration. The building hardware that were used are diametrically local and among them gneiss and marble in different colors. Sculptors from several places were invited to decorate the Sanctuary, such as

Geometric period and the Dark ages. The cemetery outside the walls, which came to light by the professor of archeology Mrs Nota Kourou, is a usual phenomenon for that time. At the same period (10th-7th century BC) the fire holes are dated in this area, while the Sanctuary of the great goddess and daughter, is placed during the archaic years. Its worship was customized to the time's facts and to the Dodecatheon's worship and the Temple was dedicated to goddess Ceres and her daughter Persephone. The safety and piece that prevailed in the Aegean in the Classic years gave the chance to the island's habitants to abandon Xomburgo and found a city at the coast. The rock will lapse into obscurity until the Byzantine years when it will again be inhabited, reaching its peak. The invasions and the continuous attacks made the locals reunite around the granite rock, establishing a capital in the area of the today's village "Xinara".  
In 1207, the brothers Andreas and Jeremiah Gizis captured Tinos. One of their first moves was to entrench the rock and to build a stronghold. The "Castle of Saint Helen" as it was called, took its name by the homonymic chapel on its peak. Until the last offspring of the Gizis family, in 1390, the castle of Tinos was famous for its entrenchment and the safety that provided to the nation. The Gizis followed the Venetian Democracy and after the locals' consent not to come under the authority of the Turks, a commandant was assigned with the title "Human dynamo of Tinos and Mykonos". In 1537, Khayrad'din Barbarossa conquered Tinos, for the Sultan which rose in revolt asking back the Venetians. The Serene, retrieved the island, which was its only dominion of the Cyclades. The alcazar was rebuilt stronger than ever and according to the modern building of the 16th century AC, the NE-SE side of the rock was naturally entrenched. Consequently, only the side of the bank needed backing, where the town was built. The information reveal about 100 buildings, houses and stores, as well as two churches in Borgo(thorp outside the castle). Most habitants occupied with agriculture, as the castle comprised, apart from a shelter, also the main market of the island. The 600 m of the wall included a high tower in the SE, in the east the "half moon", the main entrenchment in the E-NE, in the NE a high square tower ("La Punta") and in the NW the secondary gate from where the habitants and the animal could go in, in case of beleaguerment. Life inside the tower was incommodious, as the roads were narrow and the houses could just accommodate 2 people. The habitants of the castle were about 1000-2000. In the 17th century the habitants wouldn't exceed the 800, from who only the 200 were men. The majority consisted of women children and elderly. Apart from men also women were renowned for their contribution to the life and preservation of the castle. The castle of Tinos withstood many attacks; Sarakins, Turks, Western. In 1715-42, the last invasion happened which was catastrophic. With a special convention between the governors of the island and the Turks, the island fell into the hands of the last, who procured to completely destroy the castle. The fort of Saint Helen, after 508 years succumbs. The habitants, who didn't move to the emergent "Chora", settled in villages, abandoned the island or vainly tried to abide in the dead "Borgo". It was then when Exomburgo or Xomburgo attained its today's name(it was called castle), from the Italian word "soborgo" that means suburb(small town). The hamlet "died" in the beginning of the 20th century. Today Xomburgo attracts the visitors and provokes them to walk through its historic and forgotten roads and ruins. The care of the believers conserves the chapel of Saint Minas and Saint Eleousa that were built in 1828. The Monastery of the "Holy Heart of Jesus" hides its story which goes back to the 17th century and will be discussed below.

ELLI'S MAUSOLEUM
Beside the church of the finding of the Annunciation it is the Elli's mausoleum. Here, are kept, along with the marble anaglyph form of victory, parts of the Italian torpedo that hit the Greek craft Elli, the ship's objects and the victims' bones.

THE MUSEUM OF ANTONY SOHOS
It is housed in the Virgin Mary's church enclosure. The wooden and plaster engravings of the Tinian Academic are available here.

MARBLE SCULPTING MUSEUM
This emergent museum, which the Cultural Foundation of the Piraeus Association has created in 2007, comprises one of the most modern museums on the island and the first of this kind in Greece. It is located in the village "Pyrgos", beside the renowned School of Arts and it is housed in a modern building, according to the public's modern demands, and coincided with the Tinian landscape. Here, the visitor can wander about and be guided through the marble's circle of life. From the quarries of the feedstock's extraction to the laboratory and the creation of artworks we understand with representations and audio-visual material, the elaboration of the rock, the use of the several tools and in the end the transformation from an amorphous clump into different artistic artefacts. For the museum's needs, several of the island's authentic marble sculptures are exhibited, modern and old, due to citizens' and authorities' donations such as; architectural parts, lintels, as well as artworks' rough drafts of famous local sculptors.

 MUSEUM OF ARTISTS FROM "PANORMOS"
It is housed in a building at the entrance of the village "Pyrgos", beside the house of Giannoulis Halepas. Here sculptures and anaglyphs of the artists from "Panormos" are exhibited such as; G.Halepas, D.Filippotis, Eur.Lampaditis, I.Voulgaris, L.Lukas, G.Vitalis, L.Sohos and more. Indeed, some of them are the authentic maquettes of the marble masterpieces, where sometimes you can detect the marks carved by the artists to be helped from.

THE HOUSE-MUSEUM OF GIANNOULIS HALEPAS
The house of the famous Tinian sculptor, in the village "Pyrgos", has been transformed into a museum. Here, apart from the area where the artist lived and created, the family photos, the furniture and the household utensils that he used, the visitor can also see and admire sculptures of his.

MUSEUM OF ARTISTS FROM "ISTERNIA"
In this museum that is placed in the village "Isternia", artworks of the local artists are exhibited, like; the Fitalis brothers, Malakates, G.Vitalis, Lazarus and Antony Sohos, L.Lameras and more.

Also many are the museums that exist in many villages and thorps of Tinos, artistic, folkloric, ecclesiastic, agricultural and many more which are worth visiting and discover the tradition, art and culture of the island (see Tinian villages description).

MONASTERIES
The monastery of the "Angels' Lady" on "Kehrovouni" of Tinos

preserve the Monastery, where they not only live until today but also where the dreamer of Virgin Mary had lived.

The monastery of the Holy Heart of Jesus in Xomburgo
The Monastery of the Holy Heart of Jesus is considered one of the biggest pilgrimages of the Greek Catholic Church. It was founded by Jesuit monks who came to Tinos in the second half of the 17th century and settled in a house given to them in the Castle which they transformed into the church of Saint Sofia. After the castle's distribution to the Turks and its destruction, the Jesuits inhabit in "Borgo" where they build a large church in 1720-25, beside the church of Saint Catherine, the church of Saint Sofia, in memory of the first church in the Castle. In 1837-38 they move to Loutra and in their own field they build a Monastery and a church dedicated to Saint Joseph. At the end of the 19th century though, with the mediation of the abbot of the Monastery of "Loutra" and the villagers' donations the ramshackle church of Saint Sofia is diametrically renovated and was renamed to church of the Holy Heart of Jesus. After a period of abandonment, it was reconditioned in the middle of the 20th century and it was expanded taking its today's form. It includes, apart from the church, a restaurant and chambers for the guests. In the middle of the forecourt preponderates, the statue of the Holy Heart of Jesus, created by I.Filippotis in 1950, dedicated to the lost Catholics between1912-1950. Every second Sunday of July, it celebrates with the turnout of believers coming from all over Greece. Both, the believers and the visitors during the summer months receive a warm welcome and hospitality.

CAVES
Tinos is an island gifted by nature. Apart from the piece and calmness of the Tinian landscape, there is its wild side with the rocks, carved by the winds and the lively waves. This island has a lot of unexplored caves surrendered to time and natural phenomenon. The biggest and most important caves of the island are:

The cave "Gastria"
It is located 1km west of "Kionia" and it is considered that formerly here, existed ceramic laboratories. The ground also advocates to this which is rich in argil but also the existence of two firing kilns. In the area many vessel pieces have been found and near by was the Temple of Poseidon and Amphitrite which consumed clay vessels for the service of the pilgrim crowds. Moreover, the name "Gastria" possibly comes from the word "Glastria"(clay vessels).
The cave's length is over 50m and in the inside in some points it is significantly wide. In the opening of its inside, a weird circle construction has been discovered. According to the tradition, it was here where the Christians came during the period of their harassments. Furthermore, paleo-Christian inscriptions have been discovered on the cave's walls.
The legend wants this cave to be connected with the Castle of Xomburgo, with a secret passage, which is difficult to be proofed since the cave ends at a point, probably due to earth-fall. This place is worth to be further explored while except for the geological it also presents archeological interest.

Migospilia or Kameni Spilia (Fly-Cave or Burnt Cave)

It is located 6 km west of the village "Aetofolia" and 200m from the sea surface, in the area "Kastela". This cave is 5m long and has two entrances. There are human

ouzo-restaurant with the fresh octopuses and other seafood complete the successful choice.

"Agios Markos"(Saint Markus)
Beside "Stavros" there is "Agios Markos". The small chapel preponderates on the rock that hides the small beach beneath it. The pebbles and the crystal clear water attract those who do not prefer the water to be warm. When the norther blows, "Agios Markos" transforms into a hideaway and an ideal solution for the bathers.

"Kionia"
Right after "Agios Markos" we come across "Kionia" with "Tsampia" at the beginning, which owes its name to the historical homonymic river "Sampias" which disembogues here. The long beach with the pebbles and the pines extends in front of the archeological area of "Kionia" with the Sanctuary of Poseidon and views to Syros. A plurality of restaurants and rooms to let, sate the quests. After "Kionia" there are sequential coasts with the last one "Platia Ammos" being the most beautiful or "Germanos" as the locals call it.

"Agios Sostis"
A few miles east from "Chora" there is a series of popular sand beaches, with a marvelous view to Mykonos and the first one is Agios Sostis. The beautiful church that it is dated since the 19th century preponderates on the rock. This leeward and shallow beach with a see wall ideal for diving, attracts not only families but also lonely tourists.

"Laouti or Skilantar"
This beach as well as "Agia Kiriaki", is ideal, while it combines the clean sea with nice sand appropriate not only for sunbathing but also sports. Cafeterias and taverns complete the visitors' choice.

"Agios Ioannis Porto"
In the east of "Agia Kiriaki" we meet the gulf of "Agios Ioannis Porto" which formerly had been the port of Tinos. It is one of the most popular and busiest beaches of the island in the homonymic developed thorp. The lovely sand, the shallow sea, the shadowy trees and the picturesque chapel at the edge of the beach make it an ideal destination. A coffee-bar and umbrellas offer comforts to the bathers.

"Pahia Ammos"
Just the name (thick sand) biases the visitors of this beach, what to be expecting.
Blue-green waters "bind" with thick golden sand and a sand dune that reminds of the desert. Apart from an exhilarating swim, the location is perfect for playing in the sand and for sports.

"Lihnaftia"
On the road to "Triantaros"-"Dio Choria" we come across the intersection leading to "Lihnaftias" beach. It is a special coast with sand, pebbles and luxuriant vegetation. The rocks at its edge, offer shadow and form natural chambers. The green water is always cool and Mykonos seems very close.

"Santa Margarita"

"Ormos Isternion"
It is the seaport of the homonymic village and had been a port of Tinos. It is a thorp with many houses, coffee-shops and taverns beside the waves. Beside this coast there is the beach "Shinaki" with rich sand and a little thrift that offers shadow. This leeward coast is an idea choice when the norther blows.

"Mali"
At the most northwestern point of Tinos there is a picturesque cove with a few houses while it was newly discovered by many and it was loved. This is owed to the new road that was opened starting from the village "Marlas". This romantic landscape viewing the adverse Andros is advisable for an idyllic stroll on the white peddles and a swim in the clear green water.

"Panormos"
It is an old port of Tinos and seaport of "Pyrgos" with the island "Planitis" preponderating in the middle. Here around the port there are several beautiful coasts. The one in the cove with a lake with ducks, turtles and other animals, attracts people due to this particularity but also because it is in the thorp with the white houses, the sea food taverns and the boats which sway in the calm water. On the left of "Panormos" there is a series of beautiful beaches with most beautiful being "Agia Thalassa". With its marvelous sand it comprises an ideal destination, when the norther blows from which it is protected. On the right of "Panormos" and 1km away we come across the beach "Rohari". It is a big cove with clean sand, light blue water and thrift that offers shadow. A beach bar and showers service the bathers.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

CUSTOMS
Like every corner in Greece, Tinos as well has its own customs, which the associations and the inhabitants look after to preserve until today. The visitor of the island will have the chance to know them at close quarters and live these different traditions obtaining new experiences. The Carols, the Tinian Wedding, the evening party, the local music are some of the elements of the Tinian heritage.

TINIAN WEDDING

The wedding is a religious ceremony but also a cultural expression since apart from the rite of passage, the wedding also prolongs local traditions. In Tinos it is accomplished following the same procedure in both dogmas, orthodox and catholic. Days before, girls and relatives of the about to be married go around the houses of the village and the villages around to invite people to the wedding. The same day, the village's barber, goes to the groom's house to cut his hair and shave him. Young men come to dress him and in the mean time they shoot with the shotgun. The young girls go to the bride's house to dress her. A procession starts with the folk instruments (violin, lute) in the front playing wedding melodies, followed by the groom (formerly on a horse or mule) with his family, the relatives and the quests. The same happens with the bride that goes into the church with the same escort and in the forecourt, she meets with the groom, and together, they go in the church. The religious ceremony follows and afterwards the procession starts again. In the front are the instruments playing wedding marches and behind are the just married, the parents, the maids of honor and everybody else. At the house a great preparation is waiting, with traditional confectionery (maracoons, "fishes", glazed dried food and fried honey doe) as well as food. Formerly, rabbit was a necessary dish. The wishes and treats are countless.

The visitor of Tinos has the chance to taste the traditional Cycladic kitchen but also the remarkable Tinian eating by local pure products that the island produces. Besides the garden production that abounds in irrigative gardens, in the doldrums of the island every kind of fruit tree, thrives. Furthermore, on the island agrarian bushy plants develop in infertile locations usually like, caper, mushrooms, sage, dictamnus, thyme, wild artichokes, oregano, prickly pears, camomile and many other kinds of brew.
The island's opulent vegetation, mostly in "Kato Meri", created prosperous conditions for the animal husbandry development. Every agricultural home has autarky in consumer goods. Particularly the farmers breed cows, sheep, chickens, rabbits and more, while the dovecotes that are all over the island also declare dove breeding. The animal though, that no house in Tinos lacks of and which is being preserved by its owner for a year, is the swine, which is being fed for its weight to augment, preparative to ensure the year's meat and grease.
After all this vegetable and animal affluence, it is apparent that Tinos has the capability of offering the locals and the visitors, genuine and pure products, some of them, exported and in great demand. "Louza", sausage, ham and "Skordato", are famed for their deliciousness. Far-famed, also are the tasty Tinian milk, the gruyere, the cheese "kopanisti", the circle cheese, the unsalted cheese "petroma", the unsalted soft cheese "anthotiro" and "Malthouni", which are all produced in a modern corporate cheese-dairy.
The visitor can also find local thyme honey, dried in the sun tomatoes, fresh and dry figs and every kind of fresh fruit and vegetable. The first of quality red grape is also known while you can try must-jelly made of sweet must. In conclusion the visitor can not leave the island if he doesn't drink Tinian wine but mainly arrack.
All the above products can be obtained by the corporation, the food stores and the markets in Tinos. It is certain that everyone before departure will bye the famed Tinian confectionery made of pure products; maracoons, fried sweet doe "diples", "psarakia", "bezedes", sweet cheese-pies, Turkish delights and more.

RECIPES
Sun-dried tomatoes with batter
INGREDIENTS FOR 15 PIECES
15 sun dried tomatoes
1 ½ cup flour
2 spoons fine-cut parsley
1 small dry onion grated
2 spoons fine-cut fennel
2/3 cup water
1 ½ cup olive oil for the frying, salt and pepper
DIRECTIONS: Put the dried tomatoes in the water for a day, so they blow and loose their salt. In a bowl pour the flour, add the onion, fennel, salt and pepper. Mix all these ingredients with water, as much as it needed until a thick mash is made. Pour the tomatoes into the mash. Take the tomatoes one by one along with some mash and fry them in hot oil, both sides. They are served hot.
VARIATIONS: The tomatoes are also tasty without the vegetables. Put some sugar on the soaked tomatoes and them pour them in the mash.

 

Omelet or "Furtalia" with sausage
INGREDIENTS FOR 4-6 PEOPLE
200gr sausage pieces

Fine-cut the tentacles and strain them. Put the oil to warm up and add the onion. Saute for a few minutes, add the tentacles wait for them to ingest their water and then add the ½ cup wine and the rice. Stir for a few minutes until the rice ingests the liquids. Take it from the hot plate and add the parsley, the caper, the bread, salt and pepper and stir. Stuff the squid and close them with a toothpick. Put them in a deep frying pan. Add ½ cup olive oil, ½ cup wine and braise for half an hour.

 

Sweet Fried Doe
INGREDIENTS FOR 40-50 PIECES
500gr flour for all uses
½ cup lemon juice
½ cup olive oil
1 shot of arrack, water
3 cups olive oil for the frying
fine-cut walnuts, sesame, cinnamon
For the syrup:
3 glasses sugar
½ glass water
3 spoons honey
DIRECTIONS: Put in a bowl the flour, make a hole in the middle and pour the olive oil, the lemon and water until the doe is stiff. Cut the doe in orange size balls. Open a very thin puff pastry and cut it in stripes 10 x 20cm. If the puff pastry is sticky, be powder it with corn flour. Put the oil to burn. Put the stripes one by one and with fast moves fold it in a role with two forks as for help. Brown each role all around. Put the fried roles on absorbent paper so they strain from oil. Put all the ingredients for the syrup in a pot and let them boil until ready. Put the fried role in a platter and pour the syrup. Be powder with the walnuts, cinnamon and sesame. We can preserve the fried roles after we fry them for two or three weeks and when we want to serve them, then we pour syrup and we garnish.
VARIATION: You can make the doe with orange juice and without water.

The recipes were given from Mrs Nikolleta Delatolla-Foskolou and from her book "Tastes of the Cyclades", with photos of Chrysa Paraskeua ("To Fotografeio").

PEREGRINATION
The visitor of Tinos, beyond the pilgrimage in the Virgin Mary's church, must explore the inner landscape of the island that has managed to stay unaltered from extrinsic interventions until today. The ambler will walk through cobbly roads and paths enjoying the rock element of the Tinian hinterland, with the dry stone wall made by brilliant technicians who managed to cohere it with the environment. He will also have the chance to enjoy the remote dovecotes, "embroidered" with unique expertise, by rock experts, country cottages and chapels with artistic bell towers but also green ravines that decorate the peaceful scenery.
The routes below are only some of the various that are offered for the hiking devotees.

1 "FALATADOS- (MIRSINI)- MAGGANARI- PLATI- LIVADA COAST"
This route presents great interest, while the foot passenger starting from "Falatados"

one of the biggest and most beautiful villages in Tinos, has the chance to walk on a cobbly path for its biggest part, to walk at the shadowy watersides of the area's

river with the rich vegetation by sycamores and oaks and explore locations with old watermills. At the position "Lidakia", the scenery is spectacular, while innumerable weathered granite rocks enchain the excursionist. The errantry can end through the pastoral areas of "Plati" and "Magganari", at the coast of "Livada", a beautiful and clean as a whistle beach. Moreover, the excursion can be extended to the lighthouse of "Livada" that is located at the northeast edge of the island. At the same destination you can also wind up, starting from the village "Mirsini" which is on the roots of the mount "Tsiknias".

2 "KSINARA- XOMBURGO- KOUMAROS-SKALADOS- KROKOS- SMARDAKITO- TARAMPADOS- KAMPOS- LOYTRA- PERASTRA"   
It is a long and tiring route but worth for someone to follow, because he will have the chance to know many villages of the hinterland, passing through them, but also the grandeur of the natural scenery and its expressions. Starting from the village "Xinara", head of the "Xomburgo" borough, where the noble building of the Catholic archbishop preponderates, the sight-seer ascends to "Xomburgo" which overhangs this village casting its shadow imposingly. At the top of the castle the panoramic view rivets the attention, while the large marble cross also presents great interest in memory of the old church of Saint Helen that had been there. Afterwards the road goes through "Koumaros", at the slope of the mountain "Fourka", with a view to the valley of "Komi" and its villages. Having on his right hand the unique landscape of "Volax" with the granite shapes, the hiker shelves to the nearest village, "Skalados", where he can have a brake for coffee or a soft drink at the village's coffee place. The way down will continue to "Krokos", a picturesque village in the ravine with traditional taverns. The route afterwards becomes acclivitous but pleasant, while it continues through a path between fields with waters and fruit trees. Coming across, picturesque chapels, dovecotes, threshing areas, windmills, the excursionist will reach "Smardakito", a village with a nice position, architecture and the cool source where he can rest. Continuing to "Tarampados" he will have the chance to enjoy the marvelous picture of the artistic dovecotes which are in assembly in the area and are ranked among the biggest and best preserved of the island. He will carry on to the vicinal village , "Kampos", from where he will procure odoriferous sea bread and farmhouse loaves, and he will shelve to "Loutra", a village covered with green and citrus fruits, the head of the Ursouline nuns and the Jesuit monks. In conclusion, he will arrive at the route's end, " Perastra", walking in parallel with the flume of "Komi", among the oleanders and the osiers and passing over the rock bridges and the cobbly alleys.

3 "KEHROVOUNI ABBEY- MOUNTADOS- SPERADOS- TRIPOTAMOS- XOMBURGO"
This route that starts from the "Kehrovouni" abbey and ends to "Xomburgo" or vice versa can be compared to communicating vessels while the beginning and the end are located on the peaks of the two mountains around the same height. Thus, anyone that tries to walk it has to bear grades and he'll earn a lot, while besides the physical exercise he will have enjoyed a fabulous route. From the abbey starts a cobbly twisting path that goes down the slope with the fields and the innumerous terraces, the stables and the threshing areas and ends up in the village "Mountados". The foot passenger here has the chance to be guided in the beautiful and picturesque village and rest drinking water from its source. Afterwards, passing over a rock bridge and leaving behind on his right "Karya" and the hill of "Kolokithas" with the abandoned windmill, he will reach the villages "Smperados" and "Tripotamos". Both traditional thorps with countless dovecotes, rock built taps and chapels that surround them, charm the visitor. After the village "Tripotamos, the road becomes acclivitous and coincides the ancient road to "Xomburgo". The route, passing through the ruins of the ancient city with the remnants of the imposing ancient wall, the several buildings and the Sanctuary of Ceres, eventuates at the foothill of the rock that for centuries had harbored the mediaeval castle of the island. Furthermore, the perambulation can be completed with a tour in the Monastery of the "Holy Heart of Jesus", but also with the ascension to the alcazar, for those who withstand.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

4 "KIONIA- KTIKADOS- SMOURDIA- VARI- POLES- CHORA"
Two smaller marches of this route are those that connect the villages "Ktikados" and "Hatzirados" with "Kionia", a coast with a thorp and an ancient area where the ruins of the Temple of Poseidon and Amphitrite exist. They are quite short and effortless marches, since they are declivitous but also enjoyable with a great view to the endless Aegean and the contiguous island of Syros. The hiker will pass from rural roads and bridges in the vert. This part of the route connects with the old artery "Chora-Xomburgo" that ends in "Chora", passing beside the wall of ancient Tinos at the location "Poles" and from the ruins of the Peisistratus aqueduct. If someone wants to follow the whole route will start from "Hatzirados" or "Ktikados", will pass through the ruins of the old village and at the position "Smourdia" will go down the cobbly road of "Xomburgo-Chora".

5 "FALATADOS- VOLAX- GRIZA- SKLAVOCHORIO- AGAPI"
This route leads from "Pano Meri" to "Kato Meri" of Tinos, starting from the north edge of "Falatados" and particularly "Kathlikaros", ending to the village "Agapi". The ambler after he passes through a unique landscape with massive granite rocks, will arrive to the village "Volax". A tour around the picturesque village and the purchase of traditional baskets are imperative, as well as a stop at the coffee house and tavern of the thorp. Afterwards, heading to the village "Griza" lengthwise the ravine with the briers and oleanders, he will arrive at the village "Agapi" with the rock bridges, many dovecotes, the prickly pears and the almond trees. With a small sidetrack the ambler can visit the small village "Sklavochorio", homeland of the painter Nicholas Gkizis.

6 "STENI- POTAMIA- MAROULI- LIHNAFTIA"
If someone visits "Steni", head village of Tinos and likes hiking and exploring, it is worth to follow the path that starts from here and goes down to the southeast of the island with an ending in the vert and peaceful "Lihnaftia" beach. During the route he will come across the village "Potamia" with its ravines, will walk on the old oath of "Tartari", after he has passed through the rock bridge and going down to the village "Marouli", he will meet traditional dovecotes inside gardens. At the position "Neromilos" it is worth to stop and rest and sea the old thorp with its watermill. The end of this route is the magical beach of "Lihnaftia" with the colorful pebbles, green waters and the view to Mykonos.

7 "MIRSINI- PROFITIS ELIAS- TOP OF TSIKNIAS"
The island's visitor will have a complete aspect of Tinos, if apart from the other routes he also follows the one that leads to the top of "Tsiknias"(726m), a mountain with myths around its name. Starting from the village "Mirsini", he takes the path to "Xokopi" that leads to the foothill of the mountain. At the location "Marmaras" the serpentine ascension starts, heading to the chapel of "Profitis Elias", to end at the top of the mountain. Here, the ambler comes into his own for his choice for the view of Tinos, the Aegean and the islands around, all in front of his eyes.

8 "DIO CHORIA- FANEROMENI- KOUNARES- (AGIA VARVARA)- AGIOS SOSTIS
With "glistertni" as point of departure, the lower tap of "Dio Choria", the foot passenger can follow the old snaky path and go down the slope having an endless view to the sea. In the front spread the rangelands of "Mantalous" while around are chapels and olive groves. Arriving at the Monastery of "Faneromeni" and at the position "Kounares", it is worth making a stop to admire the scenery and to descry the remnants of the ancient rural thorp. After "Kounares", the route is divided into two sections: one of them leads to "Agia Varvara" and the other one- the main route- to the picturesque port of "Agios Sostis" with a beautiful beach.

9 "KALLONI- AETOFOLIA- KORIS PYRGOS- STAYRIA- MONI KATAPOLIANIS- PLATIA-PYRGOS"
The ambler that will decide to walk this long and of a great cultural interest route, to reach "Kato Meri" at "Exo Meria", will have the chance to attain unique experiences, because he will discover the unexplored side of Tinos. He will boot from "Kalloni", a really pretty village, as its name reveals, he will go up to "Aetofolia" with the great view and the picturesque source, he will pass the rock built bridge and will reach "Agious Anargyrous" and at "Pyrgia", where ruins of the Hellenistic years exist. Heading always to the north side of Tinos with the abrupt slopes and the wild insular nature and having on the right side the Aegean, he will stop at the position "Koris Pyrgos", to enjoy the marvelous view of the dell of "Halakia" and the country cottages built on an ancient thorp. During the whole route the scenery is dry with poor vegetation and fields with the characteristic terraces built with local rock. The next station is the Monastery of "Katapoliani" dated from the 18th century. It is located at the slope of the mountain in the area of "Insternia" and has a great view to the villages of "Exo Meria" and a source with cool water. Afterwards the track is going down to village "Platia" with the war memorial, dedicated to the lost "Panormos" inhabitants and as a final destination the biggest village in Tinos; "Pyrgos". Here the ambler can walk through the marble paved alleys, visit the Museums of "Halepas" and "Artists of Panormos", the School of Arts, the village's cemetery with its brilliant sculptures, the new Museum of marble artistry, admire the rear lintels and rest at the picturesque square of the village with the centenarian sycamore.

10 "KARDIANI- ISTERNIA-(COAST OF ISTERNIA)- VENARDADOS- PYRGOS- MARLAS- MAMADOS"
With "Kardiani as a point of departure, a village full of green on the southwest sidde of Tinos that literally hangs on the slope of the mountain with an imitable view to the Aegean and Syros, the ambler moves in parallel with the provincial road to "Isternia", a big and beautiful village with a view comparable to that of "Kardiani". Here, he can stop to walk through the marble paved alleys, visit the Museum of the Artists from "Isternia" and the artistic cathedral of Saint Paraskevi. If he wants and has time and desire, he can go down the cobbly path with the steps to the coast of "Isternia" where he can sit for coffee at the coffee house or for sea food at the taverns. Otherwise, he continues for "Pyrgos", passing through the picturesque village of "Vernados" which is located in a ravine with platans. After he travels in the biggest and most beautiful village of Tinos, "Pyrgos", the foot passenger crossing over at the beginning the old cobbly artery that leads to "Panormos", he will follow an up-grade ramification to "Marlas" with the matchless church of Saints Anargyrous and the neighboring monastery of Kira-Xeni as well as "Mamados", the island's most west village, with a great view to the channel Tinos-Andros and Andros. In the meanwhile, he can explore the desolated thorp of "Ismail".
These peregrinations through Tinos were based on information from the publication "Peregrination through Tinos", text of Mr Tasos Anastasiou. This publication, written in three languages-Greek, English and French- was published and circulates in parallel with the actions that take place in Tinos by the Department of Culture of the Prefectural administration of the Cyclades for the protection and elevation of the chosen network of old cobbly roads and paths of the island.

ROUTES
ROUTES BY CAR
The road network of Tinos favors the routes by car or motorcycle and the visitor has the chance wander around and explore the island in three or more days. The routes below are recommended and allow the ambler to guide himself in the best way in the Tinian country side and its traditional villages.

1 "TRIANTAROS- DIO CHORIA- ARNADOS- MONASTIRI- STENI- FALATADOS"
Following the "old"-once inimitable- picturesque asphalt road that leads from "Chora" to the villages, we choose to go towards "Monastiri". At the exit of the Town we come across "Saint Paraskevi"- former monastery and now parish church. The whole route is marvelous, since the scenery around is magical with fields built with rock terraces, filled with olive trees and fig trees, dovecotes and white chapels, bridges and ravines but also a view to "Chora" and the sea. At the position "Derafia- Kokkines ecclesies" we follow the road on the right of the intersection towards "Monastiri". The first villages that we meet are the picturesque "Mperdemiaros" and the traditional "Triantaros". It is worth to stop here and wander around the narrow alleys with the arches, to refresh at the cool tap, to see the old oil press that is exposed at the entrance and to eat at a tavern in the ravine or higher with a view. Afterwards we go up to "Dio Choria" where the matchless view to the endless blue beguiles every passer. An exploration of the village is proposed, since this village apart from its beauty also has a big square with old platans that overshadow it. Next station is the neighboring "Arnados". It is one of the most traditional thorps of the island, with many arches, arcades, the respectful "Panaidaki" hidden in a crypt, museums and taverns with great view. Following the road we reach the Monastery of the "Lady of angels" in "Kehrovouni". Here, time is required, to visit it and to wander around the narrow alleys, taken care of by nuns, to worship the head of Saint Pelagia (nun that saw the dream of finding the Annunciation icon) and bye handmade pieces by nuns. The route continues through the path graven on the mountain's slope. On the left, lies the green village of "Karya" which we can visit going down an old path, while subsequently there are the villages of "Tzados" and "Kehros". At the hub of the location "Pentostrato", we will turn right towards "Steni", a head village with the cathedrals of Saint Nickolas and Saint Antony and we will visit its museum with the rear exhibits. We will continue a little more to the picturesque and green villages of "Mersini" and "Potamia" with the old dovecotes, watermills and the threshing areas in the dell. After we return to "Pentostrato" passing from the village "Mesi" we will head right, towards "Falatados", the second big village of the island, outstretched on the mountain, where we will walk through the narrow paved with slabs alleys, we will visit its cathedral with the high dome, the museums but also taverns for traditional eating. Whoever desires can visit the contiguous "Xomburgo" with the Catholic Monastery of the "Holy Heart of Jesus" and go up its top with the fantastic view walking through the Castle's ruins.

2 "TRIPOTAMOS- KTIKADOS- KSINARA- LOUTRA- VOLAX- KOMI- KALLONI"
With "Chora" as a starting point and going up the "new" road we are heading to "Pyrgos". Apart from the Tinian country side with the terraces and the flocks that graze in the fields, the dam of "Vaketa" also impresses seeming low like a little lake over the town. After a 5km track we meet "Tripotamos" with the many spread dovecotes. The village is really picturesque and it is worth visiting. The philosopher Cornelius Kastoriadis had chosen to live here. The intersection on the right leads to the pretty villages of "Karia" and "Mountados", while crossing the road on the left towards "Pyrgos" we pass from old windmills and from the island's cheese-dairy. After a short distance (about 1km) we arrive at the villages "Ktikados" and "Hatzirados". A stop for coffee and food with a view to "Kionia" and the sea is best before the continuation of the route towards the hinterland. Afterwards we find ourselves in front of a junction we bear right and we will be led to the historic "Xinara" at the west foothill of "Xomburgo". The Catholic archbishop is here, with its considerable archives, as well as the borough's central office. Very close from there is the village "Loutra" with the historic abbeys of the "Ursuline" nuns and the Jesuit monks. Here, the stop is bounden since the ambler has a plethora of visits to the museums of the village and around the green thorp. Continuing and turning right at the intersection, we go up to the villages "Skalados" with the magical view to the valley of "Komi", "Koumaros" at the foothill of the mountain "Fourka" and "Volax" with the inimitable primeval scenery that impresses with the massive circle rocks that are spread everywhere. Here, you can meet the last basketry experts that create baskets and corfs woven with nonesuch expertise. Returning to the central artery we turn right towards "Krokos" that is placed in the ravine with the shadowy platans and the taverns that anticipate the visitor to taste traditional treats. Continuing the declivitous road and in a short distance we deviate on the right and go up to the desolated village of "Monastiria", at the end of which there is the small but beautiful "Sklavochorio". After this compulsory deviation we return to the central road and we shelve to "Komi" coming across the village "Perastra" on our left which is built in the ravine with rock built bridges. A little further to the right we visit "Agapi" with the discrete architecture and the beautiful dell with the running waters and if we continue we are led to "Vourniotissa", a monastery with myths around its image. Returning again to our primal road, we will reach "Komi" a head village that is located in the singular large bank of Tinos with the innumerous fruit trees and the rich production of agricultural products. From here, you can go to the beautiful beach of "Kolimpithra" where except for an unforgettable swim you will also enjoy fresh sea food at the tavern beside the waves. A little further from "Komi" there are the villages "Kato Klisma" and "Aetofolia". Reaching the end of the route we pass "Karkados" on our right with the canted bell tower of its church and we terminate in "Kalloni", one of the biggest and most beautiful villages of Tinos.

"Vourniotissa"
It is a monastery that is located 4km outside the village "Agapi" with a view to the Aegean and "Kolimpithra" dedicated to Virgin Mary "Vourniotissa" whose thaumaturge icon is kept in the Abbey of "Kehrovouni". Its celebration is held on the 8th of September, the day when, as it is said, the icon was found in a miraculous way. Someone that lived near by saw light in the sea one night. When he went closer he found an earthenware jar and inside it the icon. He transferred it up to a point and then it became too heavy to be lifted. He construed that Virgin Mary wanted to stay there. At that position where the chapel of Saint John already existed, a big church was built, which today has a marble floor, a wooden chancel screen and attracts crowds of believers.

3 "KAMPOS-TARAMPADOS- KARDIANI- ISTERNIA- PYRGOS- PANORMOS"
This route is special, due to crossing over the whole south side of the island, having always on the left the endless blue of the sea and on the right the infertile, due to the winds, but also beautiful and magical part of Tinos.  With the innumerable terraces and the scuffed, from the wind, rocks and the white chapels spread everywhere the errantry is pleasant and gratifying for the visitors. Starting from "Chora", following the new road that leads to "Exo Meri"(Pyrgos) and passing from the villages of "Tripotamos" and "Ktikados", we pursue the street in parallel to the sea. The first village that we come across is "Kampos" with Saint Catherine-remnant of the Russian Mastery. A stop here, is imperative to obtain fresh odoriferous crackers and warm bread. Afterwards, the exploration of the contiguous villages of "Smardakito" and "Tarampados" is pleasant while those villages preserve their traditional colour and conquers the visitor. Beside the last one there is a clump of the biggest and most beautiful dovecotes which is advisable to photograph and observe. The road becomes deserted, while villages are absent and the scenery changes into infertile, windswept, with its main characteristics being the terraces, the rocks the spread chapels and the flocks of sheep. After a ten minute drive we will stop to admire a weird rock at a road's nook. It is sculptured by the winds and its shape seems like a giant mushroom or an umbrella. The next village we meet is "Kardiani". It literally hangs on the rock and the waters that flow in the area have transformed the scenery into green and Edenic, a small oasis. This, the cool source that refreshes us but also the village itself are the island's adornments that impose a pleasant stop for a stroll. "Isternia" is one of the biggest and most beautiful villages of the island; it will be our next stop. We will walk through the marble built alleys, we will admire the architecture of the houses and we will have coffee at the area's coffee house. A little further are together many old windmills evidential of the old economical activity and wheat commerce of the area. The scenery here is idea for photographs and perambulation. Not far from there and passing from the villages "Platia" and "Arnados" we arrive in "Pyrgos", the biggest village of the island but also the most important while it had been the motherland of many famous artists. The village itself is also substantial with the picturesque marble paved paths, its traditional houses, its sculptures that are built-in everywhere, its two imposing churches, the museums, the cemetery with its masterpieces, but also the beautiful and hospitable square with the old platan that shadows the tables of the coffee houses. After an extended walk and a stop for coffee and confectionery at the square of "Pyrgos" we move to its seaport, "Panormos". We will stop here for a swim in one of its beautiful beaches that surround the small port but also for seafood at one of its picturesque taverns. If we want we can visit the proximate villages of "Marlas" and "Mamados" which are the most obscure villages of Tinos and the old Monastery of "Kyra- Xeni", near "Marlas".

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

"KYRA- XENI"
Near the village "Marlas" there is the Monastery of "Kyra-Xeni", which was being built from 1732 until 1756. According to the tradition a ship that was coming from "Dardanellia" was in danger outside of "Panormos" from bad weather. The captain and the crew prayed to Virgin Mary to be saved while the captain also promised to become a monk. As a matter of fact, when the ship was sinking and they fell into the sea, he found in the waves an icon of Virgin Mary( an other tradition says that he had it with him in the ship) and she asked him to bring it to land. When he was rescued he came to "Marlas" and sat down to rest. When he got up to leave the icon was too heavy to be lifted. He supposed that he should built a church right over there. He built it after selling his property and dedicated it to Virgin Mary "Kyra-Xeni". The captain became a monk with the name Kallinikos and lived until his declining years. Today "Kyra- Xeni" is celebrated the first Sunday after the 15th of August and people come from all over Tinos.

OFF ROAD ROUTES (BY JEEPS AND ENDURO MOTORCYCLES)
The road network of Tinos is over 1000km from which the 600km are dirt road. The island apart from its other virtues is a small heaven for the visitors that want to circuit it by Jeep or Enduro motorcycles.
The routes below are the most popular, but the ambler must know that the dirt roads and the paths that he can follow are innumerable.

A  THE ROUND OF "TSIKNIAS"
Starting from the village "Steni" the visitor can follow the dirt road which also has some asphalt parts, to circuit the highest mountain of Tinos. The ground is level and the scenery magical since on one side there is the imposing fog covered mountain that casts its shadow while on the other one there is the endless sea. From here, the island of Mykonos can be very clearly seen. Beside the round of "Tsiknias" though, the ambler can climb to the top (only with enduro or very tough Jeeps). The route is very abrupt and demands attention, but vindicates whoever follows it while he has the chance to enjoy the wild natural landscape with the abrupt rocks and the panoramic view. At the top of the mountain there is the church of "Profitis Elias" at a 723m height. The enthusiastic bikers should know that they have the capability to follow every path they find, exploring that way the mountain and its secrets.

B "PETRIADOS- FALATADIANA"
With this route the tourist has the chance to meet the unknown north part of the island with the inimitable view and the granite rocks spread all over the place making the place seem fantastic. The choices are many while the ambler is not constrained to follow one route. With a Jeep and "Falatados" as a starting point he can move to "Kakia Skala" and the church of Virgin Mary. Another route connects "Vourniotissa" with "Kolimpithra" beach and "Exo Meri". This can be accomplished by motorcycle but also by a tough Jeep. Again, the ramifications are many and the driver has the opportunity to change tracks to any destination through paths or dirt road.

C "POLEMOU KAMPOS" (FIELD OF WAR)
This route is special while it is a an errantry in the largest plateau of the island. Here the scenery is insular mountain and infertile with spread wild brushwood, while any kind of life is absent. The chaotic place demands the escort of a local. The Jeep's driver can move to Saint Panteleimonas, a catholic church with great view, from the village "Aetofolia" as a departure point and circumferentially wander around the plateau. In the contrary, the enduro motorcycle driver has the opportunity to go towards any destination around the mountainous bulge and follow any path. The final destination could be to the NE at the church of the second Finding, over the village "Isternia".

D "STENO- PRASINA MARMARA (GREEN MARBLES)"
This route as well as the others, is interesting while the ambler will meet the NW edge of Tinos. By Jeep, the transfer to the "Tinos-Andros" channel is quite easy while lately a dirt road has been opened (formerly the route was much more difficult due to the gnarled old road). The scenery is wild and the slope, abrupt and threatening while the road is located on the edge of the crag with the sea spreading magically beneath. With a motorcycle the place's exploration is easier while there are many alternative routes. Besides the destination to the pretty lighthouse that releases memories of old times or the beaches "Mali" and "Koumelas" the ambler can move to "Profitis Elias", a church on the mountain's peak through a narrow path. Here, the beautiful view to the around villages and the sea fulfils the adventurous ascension.

The routes do not end here...As mentioned, Tinos is ideal for errantries through innumerable paths or dirt roads and invites the visitor to explore it.

ALTERNATIVE TOURISM
Tinos is the ideal destination of any visitor. Apart from the historical remnants, the traditions and the cultural activity, presents potential that can vindicate the most demanding visitor.

FISHING
The island, as most Cycladic islands, is offered for fishing. This can be submarine fishing for more organized fishermen, but also from land with a rod or a fishing line. The fish that vary depending on the season and the area are mostly sargo, blackfish, John Dory, rockfish and squids.

DIVING
A diving school is operating on the island. The interested should be informed where they could legally dive. Tinos has many sea caves and wrecks which are worth to be visited and explored.

HUNTING
According to the season the pray varies. A hunter on Tinos can hunt for partridges, rabbits, turtle doves and quails. There is a Hunting Association on the island that is taking care of the pray's reinforcement by breeding them and by field cultivation so they can find food, while there are areas where hunting is forbidden.

HIKING

as well as the Catholic Priest, Father Marko Foskolo, for the enlightenment regarding the archives of the Catholic Archbishop. Furthermore, Mr. Savva Apergi, referring to his ancestry, Triantaros, and its customs, and for the games Tinia of 1895 but also Mrs. Aggeliki Moraitou-Giftogianni, for material concerning the “Upper Places” (Pano Meri) of Tinos and the poem, that from inside her heart, has entrusted me.
Heartfelt thanks to Professor Aristides Kontogeorgi for his unrepeatable photographs which with alacrity let us to use, to Mr. Taso Anastasiou for his essential contribution and recommendations for the peregrinations (Odiporika), to Mr. Gianni Psalti for my acquaintance with the dovecotes and the actions of “The friends of Green” (Fili tou prasinou), to the personnel of the archeological museum of Tinos for their reciprocation when I needed them, to Mr. Frederick Printezi for the precious information for the off road tracks. I also express my gratitude to Father Sebastian Freri for information and suggestions in terms of the location of Loutra and the cloister of Jesuits, and to Mrs. Nikoleta Delatola Foskolou for her traditional recipes.
Moreover, I owe thanks to Mr. Niko Gkizi for his manifold and undivided support, Mrs. Ana Petrova for her general contribution and help, to the Lyceum Administrator Mr. George Amirali for his apposite remarks and tips and to Mr. Niko Varthaliti, employee of Typokykladiki, for his patience and valuable help during the guide's designing.
In conclusion, I would like to Thank Mr. John Vidali who was a moral and economical prop to my attempt, but most of all my parents who never stop encouraging me and aid me in every venture of mine.

I warmly thank them all.
Zefi Potiri

INTRODUCTION

Tinos is the reflection of an ideal destination for every voyager, and that because it combines the adversative components of nature: mountainous areas and lowland, mountain and sea, fertile and infertile soil…The mild climate of the island favors any kind of activity, while the strong etesian winds justify the characterization of Tinos as “The island of Aeolus”. With an area of 195km2, Tinos conquers the third place according to size among   The Cyclades, after Andros and Naxos (for some fourth, after Paros). Its shape is almost triangle and belongs to the line of Andros and Mykonos which is also an extension of Evia.  The ridge that separates the island in two parts, the north and the south, ends at the mountains “Kehrovouni” and “ Tsaknias”(estimated 720m high), where according to mythology, Aeolus, the God of the winds, had his palace. The total size of the coastal line is about 114km and it is being awash by “frilled” salt grids with countless creeks, capes, and also beaches for every taste: busy or quiet, accessible through the central road network, dirt road or scenic paths. Sixty two thorps, more than forty of which (as they formatted the last decades of the 20th century), are bestrewn all over the island, rare phenomenon according to the other islands of the Cyclades compared to its size. During the census of 2001, 8574 burghers of Tinos were counted who are divided into the Capital and the rest villages. The island's high spot is the rocky ground. There are large amounts of granite, schist and marble (white and green). Under hammer of the flora comes the bosky foliage (cedars, myrtles, ulex est.) as well as plants in scrublands which function as brews or can be used in cooking(sage, chamomile, oregano, caper est.) The fauna consists of pigeons, rabbits, hares, partridges, and several migratory birds (turtledoves, quails and more.) with a passage duration between September andt he oldest dorp that exists on the island is found in the position called “Vriocastro”or “Vrecastro”. Inhabitance that starts from the age of Copper or the First Cycladic Age is witnessed there by shells that have been found in the area and it becomes an entrenchment during the middle age of copper or the Middle-Cycladic Age (2300-1600BC). Generally, that period of time, the phenomenon of the population concentrating, was often encountered in strategic locations such as “Vriocastro”.
As the domical grave of S.Thekla reveals (near the village Pirgos) (13th century BC) the history of the island continues through the Mycenae Age. During the period of the “Dark Centuries” (12th-10th century BC), piracies and invasions of the “Nations of the Sea” are being observed all over the Mediterranean, which are being avoided by the removal of the thorps in locations that are natural strongholds.
Furthermore, the Cyclopean Wall is dated during this period of time, in "Xomburgo".  The Geometrical period (9th-8th century BC) is pertained with the dorp near the village, "Kardiani", according to some tombs-“Geometrical Necropolis”-and other antiquities that have been discovered. During the early ancient years (7th century BC) the centre of the island is transferred to "Xomburgo". From the excavations of N. Kontoleontos in the middle of the last century, the most important finding that comes into light is the sanctuary of the “Great Goddess” (or Ceres after-time) and the large anaglyph jars that are located in it. After the termination of this disturbed epoch and the invasions, Tinos -along with the most areas in Greece-, transfer its centre, from the naturally bunkered Xomburgo, in a more open placement.
During the later ancient years (6th century BC), as well as in the Classical years, the Capital of the island is detected lower, by the sea, around the today’s Temple of Virgin Mary. Among the important masterpieces of this period, it is worth mentioning, the Peisistratus Aqueduct in the location of “Linopi” ( it was constructed during 549-542 BC, and which until 1934 provided water to the today’s Town(Chora),as well as  Poseidon’s and Amphitrite’s’ Sanctuary  in the position “Kionia”, place, where they were specifically worshiped, due to the fact that it was the only sanctuary in the Cyclades, dedicated to the God of sea. Furthermore, the God was worshiped also as a healer in Tinos, until some time. In 338 BC, Phillip B’ conquered the Cyclades, and after the death of Alexander the Great, Antigonus and later Ptolemy (King of Egypt) ruled Tinos. After 300 BC, Tinos was free and in 270 BC was denominated as the Holly Island. In 146 BC, the Roman dominance gained mastery over the island and Tinos became a branch of the Asia Minor’s eparchy. Nevertheless it enjoyed autonomy and freedom until the middle of the 2nd century AC, when the piracy and the continuous enslavements inflated the island. During the Byzantium era, it lapsed into obscurity forasmuch as it was being attacked by continuous onslaughts (Arabians, Saracens, Goths, Ottomans, and more), but also earthquakes, pestilences (one of them outlasted 52 years, decimating the inhabitants). Until the crusades and the Franks, Tinos was experiencing the “Dark Years”. In 1207 the Venetian brothers Andreas and Jeremiah Gkizi undertook the administration of Tinos and Mykonos. The “Ghizis” fortified and assigned as a Castle, Xomburgo, an alcazar which could provide security to the island, which until then was defenseless to the invaders by virtue of lacking laagers. Tinos is the only island that hasn’t come to hand of the Turks, but only in 1715 and for a very short period of time. It was then, when Xomburgo was depopulated, and the island’s Capital became the today’s “Town” (Chora). A brief Russian sovereignty followed, and in 1821 first the village “Pyrgos” G.Palamaris as a chief, hoisted the gonfalon of the Greek revolution. The finding of the Annunciation icon, which gave courage and faith to the fighters, supported the Greek tenacity and victory, against the

March, 31st 1821. The borough of Tinos, Pyrgos, is the first to elevate the flag of the Greek revolution at the “External Side” (Ekso Meria). “Chora” followed on the 20th of April, while Tinos provided a lot in the name of freedom on land and sea.
January, 30th 1823. “From inside the Earth, the holly icon surfaced, revealing the freedom of Greece.” The finding of the thaumaturge icon of Virgin Mary, after the holly vision of a nun named Pelagia, stated the island as the major contemporary submission of our homeland and Orthodoxy.
1895. The “Tinians” (a local celebration with games) are organized on the island. They are the precursors of the Olympic Games of 1896.
August 15th 1940. The Italians confound the cruiser “Elli” at the port of Tinos, crowded by believers, on the same day of the religious celebration dated on the 15th of August. Mercifully no one got hurt among the thousands of pilgrims, fact that was considered as a Virgin Mary miracle.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

“TINIA 1895”
The “Tinians” were mounted during the three day binge of the 15th of August celebration in 1895.
They constituted the precursor of the Olympic Games during their palingenesis in 1896, centuries after their abrogation(4th century AC). They reflected the Olympian spirit, while their games integrated the religious celebrations, like they had been standing during the ancient years. The Tinian gymnast and lawyer Xenophon Sohos had the initiative for the organization of those Games. After the refusal of the Greek Gymnastic Association, the National Gymnastic Association accepted to pledge the enterprise. The great power and resplendence Virgin Mary had in the free and unredeemed Greece can be assumed by the great number of believers and visitors that came around. Furthermore it is worth reporting that the Greek Holly Institute of the Annunciation of Tinos provided the largest economical enhancement. The amount of 2000 drachmas (a rack amount for those years) indicates the institution’s provision, towards the 70 drachmas that the borough of Tinos contributed.
From the “Tinians” of 1895, only two medallions have been saved. On one side is graven the scene of the Annunciation and on the other is depicted an enlisted man without a spear, symbol of the peace that those games wanted to hold up. After 111 years, in 2006, the “Tinians” (games) revitalized in their motherland. In this very important athletic event for the island, took part all the entities, which also took on the sponsorship. Likewise 1895, the National Gymnastic Association undertook the organization, as well as taking part in it. After their success, it was decided for the “Tinians” to take place on the island, every four years, exactly like the Olympiads.

TRADITION
“Tinos has been characterized as the “island of Art and Beauty”, as it is replete with architectural masterpieces. It is gifted from nature, not only for its rare rocks, like the white and the green marble, schist and granite, but also for its environment, which favors and stimulates the verve. That is why it "gave birth" to a thong of artists, which won their spurs both in architecture and the rest of Arts.

The Country side of Tinos

Not only the architecture, but also the country side of Tinos presents great interest. The climate and its environment defined the structure of the harvest fields, but also designated the locals’ avocations (labor). Thereby the countrymen adapted the abrupt slopes into cultivable land with the stiles (or “scales” in the local dialect) which they

can see marble columns, a characteristic of western buildings and churches. The Turkish occupation in Tinos also didn’t leave any architectural indication. The short period of time, the captors occupied the island (1715-1821 with breaks), advocated in this situation.
The high spot of the Tinian villages is the lack of entrenchment or the embattled configuration, with the only exception being the Castle-Xomburgo, due to circumstances. This, is mainly due to the special established order, that Tinos and the Venetian captors had agreed in, preserving this way its full autonomy. The structure of the villages indicates how “close” the society of the villages was, with one house stuck to the other. The roads and paths of the thorps form a web, following the inclination of the ground. In conclusion, many villages have public buildings, such as schools, community establishments and more. Furthermore, the faucets, the open spaces for the festivals, the squares, are lively places for an equable living there.
The main feature of the Cycladic structure is that of the space based on the neighborhood. The biggest emphasis is given to the square and the church, which often coexist or are very close. All public buildings or meeting places (e.x cafeterias) or dealing places(e.x stores) are placed around the square, that accumulates the life of the thorp. In big villages, sometimes, there are more than one squares. In the Town (Chora), unfortunately, due to the necessities of the concurrent society and the population, the things are different. The traditional structure of the space was differentiated and emphasis was given to the coast and the port. However, neighborhoods based on the traditional way of structure, do not desist. The appellation of many villages in Tinos comes from the period of feudalism,
that preponderated for many years on the island. For example the toponyms that end in –ados. Some other villages, “Komi”, “Pyrgos”, “Steni” and more, witness their foundation in anterior ages (for e.x  Komi=Town(Chora) during the ancient classical period.) Others, owe their name to the first inhabitants the “Kares”, for example “Karia”, though others have taken their name by some characteristics of the area such as “Loutra”(Βathing resorts), “Tripotamos”(Three Rivers), “Krokos”(Crocus).

The Tinian House

The houses on the island constitute a cross section of the traditional art. They stand out for their simplicity and functional design. They are small with a few openings, which are also rare at the sides facing north. Furthermore this is the main characteristic of the Mediterranean architecture. In the olden days, the exterior area of the house was left without paint in order not to differ from the rest natural scenery. Today it is painted white or other light colors, mainly for the decontamination and the reflection of light radiation, to avoid overheat. The building hardware used, are mostly, local marble and schist, whereas the whitewash is used in construction, beplaster, decoration, or for crevice coverage. The ground is covered with schist or with “compact” dirt. The traditional Tinian houses, usually, consist of one spacious room, the lounge,  which is used as a reception, two or three smaller rooms(depending on the number of the family members) on the back or the sides, the bedrooms, a kitchen with a fireplace(which is mainly used for cooking and not for heating). The ground floor comes under the hammer of the auxiliary rooms of the house, where all the agricultural products are stored, as well as the oven, and the rooms where the harvest elaboration is taking place, such as the wine press room, the arack making room, the barn and more. The yard, open or rarely indoors, is usually on the front side of the building, on the first floor which almost never has a boron orientation. It is surrounded by walls, banquettes, usually clad with marble tiles, as a double ledge (

Churches and Chapels
Tinos from the olden years was a religious centre, whereas the Sanctuary of Poseidon and Amphitrite made it the biggest pilgrimage all over Greece. Nevertheless, the faith and the religiosity of the island continued through the centuries, until today. This can be proofed by the big number of churches which are positioned all over the island.
This fact creates a difficulty in a methodical study over them, and as a result not to have been finished yet. Having around 1000 Orthodox and Catholic churches, Tinos has possessed a special place in the world of ecclesiastic architecture, where the sensitivity of the Tinian soul reached its peak, using eastern and western techniques in a unique way. With local material and desire, the Tinian wrights built churches, that really are pieces of Art. Moreover, the belfries beguile the visitor pilgrim with their magnificence but also their simplicity. Everything, made of marble and rock, either when they are especially decorated, either inconceivably austere.
During the Byzantine years many parochial kirks were erected, in the villages.  In the building of the numerous churches contributed the special agreement among the inhabitants of Tinos and the Turks, after the island’s delivery by the Venetians. The Tinian people were free to build as many churches as they wanted. In every field a family church was built. Furthermore, a church possession is considered a blessing for the family that owns it. They alienate it from generation to generation without considering effort and expenses. When each church celebrates, private or not, all the attendants, friends and strangers, sit near and enjoy treats from the family or all the families of the village. The traditional Tinian treat consists of coffee, arrack and Turkish delight.( If it is Christmas they offer and homemade fried honey doe “Diples”, and if it is Easter sweet cheese pies). Usually, as well as the above they also offer more traditional viands, such as Tinian cheese,
 “Louza” (a special pork dainty), “Skordato” (sort of local sausage with many spices), artichokes in oil, all of them usually washed down with local wine.
The churches of Tinos grade in three types: The Minsters (parish churches that stand out in the villages and “Chora”, the chapels, smaller churches that exist near the cathedras, and the oratories. The last ones, all white, are innumerable and everywhere in the country side of Tinos: on the peaks of the mountains, at abrupt rocks, at beaches, in plains, on paths and roads, in dells, in everyplace that a Tinian believer can imagine, in the villages, but also in “Chora”. Those chapels full fill Tinos and adorn its country side. They comprise an inextricable part of it and a registered trade mark. Everyday, it is certain that one of all is celebrating, and small festivals give life to the nature and comprise chaste assemblies of the islanders. Form an architectural aspect, the churches of Tinos are once, twice or three times declinable. Their main characteristic is their bell tower which prevails in various shapes. Many times, it stands individually beside the church. The old churches do not have any openings, while in the posterior ones, they exist in exiguity. The long lived coexistence of the Orthodox and Catholic dogma on the island, had as a result, penetrations in architecture and more rarely, kirks dedicated to both dogmas, like Saint Catherine in “Tsiknias”. Generally, the traditional churches of Tinos, and particularly these of the country side, do not differ from the Tinian house. The main constructional hardware used, are the same with the Tinian houses’, such as slate clay and whitewash. The ceiling, like in the houses, is flat and it is created with one big monolithic slab or with small ones that abut against wooden beams (Cross bars “Traves”). In some churches’ face, we come across triangular frontispieces, element that does not concur with the local tradition, but is subsequent of the 19th and 20th century.

Tinos can be the ideal place for mills to function, while the strong winds that dominate on the island are a serious advantage. After scientific survey it was ascertained that here existed more windmills than the other islands of the Cyclades. From the period even before Christianity, more than 80 windmills were operating, which milled the wheat not only of Tinos but also of the contiguous islands. During the Venetian domination, the windmills increased, while the wheat was being cultivated systematically for the needs of the population that had been tripled. They are built by local rocks, on hills’ peaks and at passages, so that the wheat could be easily transported from the contiguous villages to the mill. The building is separated in three sections, at the last one and highest, the milling was done. We can encounter them in clusters or individually all over the island. At the area of the village “Isternia” many windmills are all together, due to the fact that there was developed flour industry as a result of the merchandising done through the port of the village’s cove. However there are many windmills all over the island.
The milling was continued also during the Greek revolution for the alimentation of the Greek fleet, and afterwards. Indeed the windmills’ operation was coincided with something good, while, when they milled it meant that everything was progressing well for the country and its economy.
During the Second World War, the millers of the island with the danger of loosing their lives, offered important services to the population that suffered hunger, milling flour, secretly at night, to full fill the locals’ needs. Their course continued until the 70’s, when most of them were shut down. Until recently, the last in life mill in the valley was operating, but unfortunately that one, was shut down as well.
The small amount of mills that have survived until today, are considered as examples of art and the local craftsmen’s ability. Being now remnants of passed centuries, the windmills justify the connection of the island with Aeolus, the god of the wind.
The Tinian windmills have eight wooden rays, on which the cloths are tied, which in their turn, simulate according to the wind’s strength. For their construction only local hardware is used, besides the millstone, which they import from “Mylos”. The miller’s profession was hereditary.
The millers are considered as the best weather prophets. Likewise the sailors they knew the winds on the island, and that is how, after enough consideration, they chose where to build their windmill. Furthermore, so as to be sure that everything is progressing well, they preyed to Saints, like Saint Nickolas the mariner, Saint George and Saint Minas, and hanged their icons at conspicuous places in the mill, high on the girders.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

Watermills
The watermills were invented the 1st century BC and it is unknown when they first operated in Tinos. They are connected to the old appellation of Tinos “Idrousa”, revealing the presence of water and sources on the island. The locals, turning to account this advantage, they used watermills apart from the windmills for the wheat's milling. Like the windmills, they can also be seen individually or in clusters all over the island, in places where the water abounds, like “Livada”, “Marouli” and “Perastra”. In Tinos until recently, the watermills were systematically operating. Unfortunately though, just like it happened with the windmills, due to technology they surrendered to oblivion and desuetude.

Art on the marble and stone

All the above are factors, which supported and reheated the locals to get occupied with marble and its arts. It is not accidental that connected the marble crafting profession was connected to that of the marble sculptor and artist. Indeed, there is evidence that the first organised marble laboratory started its operations in the 17th century in “Pyrgos”. From then on, many of those laboratories were created and the competition that was developed among them favoured their efflorescence with their peak in the 19th century, when they also reached their zenith. The locals’ journeys in other parts of Greece and abroad helped the adoption of original and various patterns. The Art sprawled in many kinds of activity and construction. Thus, today we come across masterpieces all over Tinos: in churches and their chancel screens, on the houses’ lintels, the escutcheons, the drinking fountains, the graves, everywhere, anywhere the the local artist's inspiration could take him. The renowned Tinian sculptors, such as Giannoulis Halepas, Dimitris Fillipotis and many more, had travelled in many places and had worked in many projects, like the palaces, the University, the Academy, the Technical college, the Archeological museum, the National Library, the Zappio Mansion and elsewhere. Moreover the marble sculpture and the laboratories had passed through a crisis in the middle of the last century, the return to the  traditional values even for touristic causes or for edification of residences based on the traditional Tinian houses, have supported the continuance of the marble sculpture tradition. These laboratories exist, mainly in the villages “Pyrgos” and “Isternia”, where the marble also accumulates.
The various museums of the island accommodate projects of Tinian artists, but also a perambulation around the villages vindicates the visitor that wants to discover closely the artworks of marble and other rocks, since they are everywhere.

Skylights or Transoms
The skylights/fenestrals (or transoms due to the local appellation) can be found all over the island. They comprise authentic creations of traditional builders and they are now directly connected with the Tinian traditional house.  They are marble sculpted, rectangle or semicircle, with various perforated designs, offering better illuminance and ventilation to the Tinian home. They are an advancement of the “alleviative triangle” of the Mycenaean period. Many of those skylights have preserved their organic position in the village houses and the city of Tinos until today. They are positioned over the exterior doors of the house, in order to offer light to the darker rooms (traditional houses have a few and small openings). Those artworks, with the decorative motifs, such as birds, ships, boats, flowers, fish, trees, usually of Venetian or Byzantine style are illustrative examples of

the unique verve in Tinos. They have a massive aesthetic value, they are the house’s adornment and they make great impact in the world of Arts.

Besides the practical causes of their use, the transoms decorated the exterior area of the house. They carried blazons-emblems of eminent families, but also conserved the family with the dictums written on them. Furthermore according to the popular delivery the main entrance of the house is being offended from fiends, and it has to be conserved. In some houses in Tinos we do not come across transoms. The main

we saw through the historical reference above, the inhabitance in the city is incident upon periods of peace and prosperity, since the island’s habitants inhabited here only in times that piracies and invasions didn’t happen. During the 6th century BC the “City” is going to be created, around the today’s Virgin Mary district, with the name “Poles” and it is going to be structured into 12 clans. In that position the Capital will stay until the Byzantine years, when, due to invasions, its inhabitants will search again for the assurance of the rock of Xomburgo. From the most important dregs of the glow of the City are the walls that spread over the today’s  temple of Virgin Mary( Indeed a Hellenistic tower  has  been excavated, which unfortunately  today is under the belt highway), the aqueduct of Peisistratus, which has been  providing water until recently, and the Sanctuary of Poseidon and Amphitrite in “Kionia”.
From ancient descriptions we learn for the sanctuary of Dionysus and the theatre, where the famous Games were taking place, “ The Donysians” , the prytaneum, the ancient market and the gymnasium. Unfortunately, all these and many more are under the new City. We can also assume from the ancient philosopher’s book, Aristotle, “Tinian Republic”, which unfortunately hadn’t been rescued, how organized and well known the ancient city was.
The inhabitance in the Today’s City coincides with the desolation of the Castle.“ The city of S. Nickolas”, as it was named due to the homonymic church at the port, took its final form after the population’s immigration from Crete, Evia and elsewhere. The habitants of  “Chora” got into merchandising, retrenching the farmers only in the villages of hinterland and for a small period of time, Tinos was one of the best mercantile islands. Some of the exportations, for which Tinos was well known, were those of wine, leather, silk, figs and more local products. The Tinian merchant vessels will reach the West, Asia Minor, and the Black Sea. Until the revolution of 1821 Tinos had over 30 large business establishments. After the slaughters in Chios and in Kidonies (1822) and in Psara (1824) the number of the city’s habitants will augment considerably, as crowds of refugees will resort on the island.
The habitants in Today’s City (Chora) continued to deal with merchandising activities, although in a smaller range. During a small coruscation, Tinos along with contiguous Siros, will overcome in the import and export trade. Sooner or later, Tinos assigns the precedence to Siros. In this declension will contribute the migration of many residents of the City to other countries, a space that was soon covered by habitants of the island’s villages.

The finding of the Annunciation image, in 1823, was the most important incident for the island (mainly for the City), its name and its economy. It has attracted, and continues to attract believers and visitors from all over Greece and abroad.  Thereby the economy of the island, apart from shipping and commerce of agricultural products, depends on commercial activity (especially in the Capital) which has to do with the influence the image has over its audience. Behind the port’s face, which injures the Capital and its fairness, hides the old City of Tinos, which dares every visitor to walk it and explore it. Besides the church of Virgin Mary, which stands out at the highest point of the City, and the museums around it, it is worth visiting the archaeological museum at The Virgin Mary Avenue and the considerable Library of Virgin Mary with thousands of titles, just behind the museum. Furthermore, a walk in the "old road" which leads to the church, offers pleasure, with the innumerable little shops and all kinds of souvenirs and the old marble "Kato Vrisi"(a fountain with a past same as the City’s). Something else that is enticing is the exploration of the City’s traditional alleys. Indeed, every visitor it is worth walking through the alleys of “Malamatenia”, Saint Nickolas the Catholic, and the three hierarchs, but also the old

for the holy water to be stored, while in the atmosphere emanate smells of frankincense. It must though be reported that there are souvenirs for every taste and every wallet.

The tradition of the sepulchral
The interest of the crowds is provoked by the circumambulation of the sepulchral on good Friday in the Town of Tinos. After the Mass each sepulchral of the five parish churches, move to the “Pantanasis” square. Each sepulchral decorated with flowers with special care, so as to appear more beautiful, is being escorted from its parishioners. The sepulchral of the Virgin Mary’s church is left unadorned, while it differentiates for its carven details. They appear all together, emerging from different roads and ascend on the platform. After they chant the eulogy, they depart along with its parishioners to their base, apart from the sepulchral of Saint Nickolas which wanders to the coast “Kalamia”. There, along with the priest they enter the sea and make an invocation for the marines. This tradition is special and it is dated from the middle of the 80’s.

The Taxiarchs’ church
The metropolitan church of the Taxiarchs stands in “Pallada”. The first small church was Catholic. In 1715 during the Turkish dominance on Tinos, after agreement of the Catholics and Orthodox, a trade was made between this church and Saint Nickolas’s which until then was Orthodox. Thus, the Taxiarchs became Orthodox and Saint Nickolas, Catholic.
It was renovated in 1759, as it shows on the graven inscription over the entrance of the church, by the archbishop of Tinos “Meletius” and the confluence of the Orthodox Tinian people. It can be called a museum of the after- Byzantine Art, mostly due to the carven- gilded chansel screen and its images. The chansel screen, as it is said, was constructed in Istanbul in the 18th century with interfered inklings of the Byzantine tradition and baroque. It is considered as one of the most beautiful chancel screens ( 8 meters long), because it presents a distinctiveness among the others. In its biggest part is ajar, scilicet that parts of wood have been abstracted as to be flimsy between the figures. This adds to it, gracility and delicacy. The various themes that are portrayed are framed with complexes of plants and flowers, eagles and doves, lions and other animals.
All the above, as well as the fact that it lodged the image of the Annunciation during the infrastructure works of the Virgin Mary church, make the church special and attracts every visitor.

VILLAGES OF TINOS
After the law written by “Kapodistrias”, Tinos was separated into two boroughs, the one of Tinos and the one of Xomburgo, and the community of “Panormos”.
The borough of Tinos consists of the Town “Chora” and some villages and the borough of Xomburgo embraces the most villages of the hinterland and the community of “Panormos the village “Pyrgos” and the villages around it. The villages of the borough of Tinos and the community of “Panormos” as well as the biggest part of “Chora” are Orthodox, whereas the borough of Xomburgo consists of Catholic villages, Orthodox, and other which are mixed, habitants of both dogmas, who for centuries have been coexisting peacefully.

 

VILLAGES PERTAINING TO THE BOROUGH OF TINOS

“Arnados”
It is placed eastwards of the cloister of “Kehrovouni” and it is one of the most ancient villages but also the one with the highest altitude. It is worth visiting for its great traditional architecture, the mediaeval arches and arcades, the cobble-stoned pavements, the historical drinking fountain of 1823 at the upper square but also the view to the Aegean and Mykonos. Astonishing is this village’s resemblance to its conterminous “Monasteri” in terms of architecture. It has two big churches, the “Assumption” within the village and Saints Anargyrous on the road to the “Dio Choria”, but also a lot more in and around it. Great interest presents the monument “Panaidaki”, hidden in an arcade, where, the legend says, operated a Secret School. The village has two museums, the ecclesiastical museum which was founded in 1987, with the ecclesiastical equipment of churches in the area and books and the agricultural museum with the domestic appliances and old tools. The active association publishes the newspaper “Our Arnados”. There are cafeterias and taverns.

Mountados”
It is placed on the bank of the “Kehrovouni” mountain. It is one more traditional village with many arches, white houses close to each other, roads paved with slabs and many steps. In the middle there is the rock bridge, under which during most months a creek flows, to which the village owes its green, and near by a traditional well.  The imposing Saint John, the village’s cathedra, impresses the visitor for its marble sculptured chancel screen and its faldstools, while churches are all over
the village. The inhabitants of “Mountados” and its active association offer their hospitality during the two festivals of Saint John and Saints Anargyrous at “Gyrla”. Until the beginning of 1800 had a tradition in commerce, seafaring (the henchman of Miaoulis, Captain Sigalas came from here), and fishing, while until the 60’s, an oil press operated here, one of the best in Tinos. The brothers “Lampraki” come from here, as well as John Platis and the archeologist Lila Maragou.

JOHN PLATIS
(Carver-image graver)
He was born in 1838 in “Mountados” and at an early age he moved with his parents to Athens and inhabited at the house of Alexander Ragavis. The poet detected very fast the boy’s talent and prompted his parents for him to attend lessons at the school of Arts. In very deed, at the age of 13 he was taught painting, chalcography, wood carving from the teacher and monk Agathonikus Triantafilou. He was classmate with Litras , Gizis and other major personalities of the Art world, and he rose to prominence many times for his pieces.
In the museum of the church of the Annunciation are pieces of his with the most important of all being the one of the Trinity, sized 24.5 x 29.5 cm, in which there are portayed religious figurations, as well as the “Virgin Mary of Kikkos”, while a very important piece is also “axion esti”, which is located in Agion Oros.
Platis had participated in a multitude of exhibitions, where he rose to eminence many times, and taught for many years with disinterest, in the Laic University, of the “Friends of the Nation Company”. During the thirty last years of his life, he lost his sight, and that is why, no pieces of his, appear that period. He passed away in 1928, at the age of 90.

“LAMPRAKI” BROTHERS

the end of every festival the hospitable habitants of “Karia” offer to the guests homemade confectionery and arrack.

VILLAGES IN THE BOROUGH OF XOMBURGO
Tripotamos- Sperados
Tripotamos is the first village that somebody comes across travelling to the hinterland of the island, at the roots of the mount Xomburgo, built among three rivers- dells, from where it also got its name(Tripotamos=three rivers). It is one of the oldest villages with arches, arcades, steps, cobbly alleys and traditional or modern houses due to the latest great edification. The parochial church of Virgin Mary distinguishes for its brilliance and at the day of its celebration the villagers, continuing the tradition, accommodate in their houses the throng of believers. Here the custom of Birth (Kavos) is celebrated during Christmas with mediaeval New Year’s elements. In the area there is the cheese dairy, of the island but also pottery and confectionery laboratories.
“Sperados” is a small thorp that belongs to Tripotamos. The slender houses makes it picturesque and cute, while a traditional path connects it with “Tripotamos”, where in the middle of it stands the elementary school.
Those two thorps “gave birth” to many professors, such as the academician “Markos Siotos”, artists, like G.Paraskeuas (hagiographer), “Fr. Desipris” ( image graver), “D. Desipris”(painter), while the philosopher Cornelius Kastoriadis also lived here.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

THE TABLE OF THE FRATERNAL IN TRIPOTAMOS (KAVOS)
It is a Christmas custom which takes place every year on the 25th of December in Tripotamos. One family, with the “kavos” as a chief, undertakes some obligations for the parochial church of the village, for the entire year. The chief on Christmas day’s noon dishes a sumptuous repast (soup, boiled meat, onion stew, dolman, roast, fruit- everything expressing amity and brotherliness), which only the men of the village and the priest attend. After the meal, some of the men along with the priest move the image of the “Jesus Nascency” to the house of the host who will take over his new duties, chanting Christmas anthems, and they place it on the table near the priest, who dispences holly bread and candles are lit by everyone. After the new “Kavos” takes over sweets are offered, wishes are exchanged and the image is returned to the church. The next day, they all gather at the old chief’s house and eat what has been left from the previous day. The old chief’s duties end with this Christmas meal, apart from his duty to light the vigil candle of the image until the end of the year. This custom is being done since the very old times, and as it seems, it will continue for many more years, due to the fact that the catalogue with the chiefs reaches the year of 2025.   

SAINT TRIFONAS FESTIVAL (01/02)
On the 1st of February, the day of Saint Trifonas’s celebration, and after the opening of the new crop barrels of wine of Saint Minas, has taken place (11/11), the past few years, a competition for the best wine has been established. This day, at the homonymic chapel near the village Tripotamos, after the Mass, a real festival is being held by the villagers being on a bender and having a wine competition. For that cause every wine producer brings his own new wine. A committee is formed by the people attending and everyone offers wine to be tasted. The committee chooses the best and everyone congratulates. A traditional feast and binge fallows.

“Ktikados”

It is built since 1700, with many arches and unique in beauty houses, and the church of the "Taxiarchs" which preponderates in the village. The nun that dreamt of Virgin Mary whose icon is kept in the church, used to live here. Its position makes it privileged, while it is placed at the coomb, where the only cluster of dovecotes exists. Those dovecotes differentiate for their size and their beauty, due to the artistic designs. After the initiative of the “Friends of Green” association, most of them have been gentrificated.   

VIRGIN MARY OF "VRISI"
Virgin Mary of “Vrisi” comprises the largest Catholic pilgrimage on the island. The church and its block of buildings are on the road to “Exo Meri” of Tinos, near the crossroad of Saint Marina, towards the sea. It is built in a verdant area, among olive trees, aspens, cypresses and eucalyptuses. There is also a natural water source, which possibly gave its name to the village “Vrisi”(Tap). Others believe that the name “Vrisi” comes from the word “Vresi”, a folk version of the word “Evresi” (finding).
The icon of Virgin Mary of “Vrisi” (the child holder) was discovered at the beginning of the 17th century, but the icon itself is dated since the 15th century.  One eremite of the Franciscan order who lived in “Tarampathos” dreamt of Virgin Mary, who indicated the place where they should dig to find her icon. After repeated tries, the nun convinced the locals to search and verily the icon was found under culms, according to the hints of Virgin Mary. It was transferred to the church of Tarampathos, but although they had decided to place it there, the icon returned to the place it was found. Thereby, they built a small chapel at that area, dedicated to Virgin Mary of “Vrisi”. Today the icon is kept in the Cathedra of Tarampathos and on its celebration’s Eve (14/08) it is transferred to “Vrisi”. Then a great festival takes place there with the reunion of the Catholic priests and believers from Tinos and elsewhere. The second big celebration takes place in “Vrisi” on the second Sunday of May. The firstly small chapel has expanded very much, so as to satisfy the needs of the crowds of pilgrims thronging.
According to a folk tradition the icon has past through an adventure. After it was transferred to Istanbul to cure a patient, he, after his recovery, sent back to Tinos an identical copy, instead of the original icon. Only after his death his fraud was discovered and the real icon returned to its base. Today in “Vrisi”, the copy is kept.

“Smardakito”
This village has preserved more than anyone else the traditional features of the Tinian architecture. With a view to the valley of “Komi” and Xomburgo, is all green due to the bountiful waters in the area. At the square of the village there is the church of Saint Antony with the high castellated bell tower, and at the opposite side the famous drinking fountain with the cool water which quenches the passers’ thirst. The local association of embellishment created a folkloric museum with exhibits, old furniture, embroidery, household utensils and agricultural tools which are dated since the 16th until the 20th century.

“Kardiani”

The first village we come across at the southwestern side of the island (Exo Meri), is "Kardiani". It comprises a special village, while it is privileged due to its position, the sources which inundate it, but also its archeology. It is built amphitheatrically and “clambered” on the abrupt slope of the mountain “Pateles”, with a view to the Aegean Sea and its islands. The village is green due to the numerous water sources, as the

going to decorate the Capital. Among his pieces, the statue of the philellenist English politician, Glathstona, stands out in the yard of the Athens University.

LAZARUS SOHOS
Lazarus Sohos from “Isternia” was born in 1862. At the age of 14 he studies in the School of Arts in Athens. At the end of his studies, in 1881, he leaves, with a scholarship by the Holly Foundation of the Annunciation of Tinos, for Paris. He studies in the Academy of Fine Arts, where he made his mark. He founds in Paris, a laboratory of marble sculpting, where the greatest artists of Europe accrete. The works that he designs are inspired by the Greek history and nature. He seems influence by Roden’s Art and he stands out for his romanticism. He is one of the most awarded artists, having been prized up to 17 times. In 1905 he took over together with Lazarus Fitalis, the reconstruction of “Leon of Haronia”, while in the same time he supervises the works in the archeological area in Olympia. In 1908 he occupied a master’s desk in the School of Arts in Athens and three years later he passes away at the age of 49.

ANTONY SOHOS
He was born in “Isternia” in 1888 and he passed away in Athens in 1975. Coming from a family with artistic tradition in marble Arts, he studied in the upper School of Arts, where he won his spurs, and afterwards with a public scholarship in Paris at the School of Fine Arts. He took part in competitions and he was awarded continuously. From 1926 until 1953 he taught sculpting in the technical school of Athens. During the last years of his life he practiced wood carving. A room in the yard of the Annunciation church of Tinos was dedicated to Antony Sohos, where pieces of his are exhibited. His work is decorating various places in Greece and abroad.

 

LAZARUS LAMERAS
From a family with a tradition in sculpting, Lazarus Lameras was born in “Insternia” in 1918, he was influenced by Tinos and Halepas and he studied in the upper School of Arts and in Paris, where he rose in eminence. He is the first sculptor who presented abstract pieces in Greece, while he designed monuments, busts, war memorials and more as well as the biggest copper statue in Greece, 5,5 meters high(“Sentinel” in Kalpaki).

MALAKATE BROTHERS
Jacobs and Francisco Malakate come from “Isternia” and they had been top sculptors. They founded in Athens the first sculpting laboratory from where great artist have graduated. The first brother had been taking over all the big ornamental works, which the Bavarian architectures assigned him and he was decorated with the Silver Cross of Sotiras. The second had been a great statue sculptor.

FITALI BROTHERS
(George, Markus, Lazarus, John, Haralabos)
They were born in “Isternia” right after 1820 from a sculptor father from whom they inherited the artistic temperament. They founded a laboratory in Athens, which had been an artist seedbed between1840-1878. All the brothers came to the front in the Arts and completed each other. Pieces of them exist in the 1st Cemetery, while the piece“Jesus holding the lamp” belongs to George.

“Tzados”

“Potamia”
It is located near “Steni” with a view to Mykonos and the Sea of “Tsiknias”, surrounded by green and dells with running waters which formerly had run in the watermills of the area. Traditional houses, built closely to each other, decorate the village, in whose centre, its cathedra preponderates, Virgin Mary of Karmilos. There have been left only a few permanent habitants who are farmers but there also exists a considerable Association that during the summer organizes special events. From here you can visit the beautiful beaches of “Santa Margarita” and “Faneromeni”.

“Myrsini”
On the way from “Steni” to “Livada”, we come across “Myrsini”, a crystal clean and traditional village, with the church of“Virgin Mary the Evangelist”, having three inclinations, magnificent and with an integral architectural structure. There are two taverns, as well as a grocery store and an English language center. Whoever desires to climb “Tsiknias” the highest mount of Tinos, can start from here.

“Falatados”
It comprises the second biggest village after “Pyrgos”, dated since 1400 AC. Traditional with narrow cobbly alleys and many arches. The habitants in cooperation with their progressive Association organize many events of cultural and religious content. The Holly Trinity, a massive and impressive church with a cupola adorns the village. It has a coffee house-grocery, cafeterias and taverns with traditional dishes. Here a place of formative Arts operates with modern and old exhibits, as well as the house of exhibitions, which is housed in the old elementary school, with paintings of classic artists. There are also many old winepresses and arrack makers here which are well preserved and operating. During September the famous festival of the arrack production takes place.

“RAKIZIO” (Arrack maker)
The "rakizio" belongs to the auxiliary rooms of the village house, where the farmers produce their arrack (from the Indian orak), the traditional drink of Tinos. After the vine harvest and the grape stepping in the wine presser they take the remnants of the bunches and put them in a copper boiler of a 40-120kg capacity, on which a cap is firmly placed which ends at a coniform exit with a pipe. They place it on a focal point with strong fire, for the distillation to start (after taking a special permission from the general public chemistry). The pipe goes through a water tank, and comes out from the opposite side. During the boiling the produced steam from the boiler goes through the pipe which is cold because of the water and dissolves, dripping at the exit into a container. The first arrack is so strong, that formerly was used it ethanol. After some time the next arrack, is produced.
In the village “Falatados” the “rakizio” has been established as a celebration and every year on the 8th of September, people from all over the island, unites in the old elementary school. As the arrack produces the men who attend drink together, while the women offer food.  Dancing and singing follows with violins and lutes.

●  The episcopal archive. It involves mainly the relation among the bishopric of Tinos and Rome, the local authority, the Greek government, other bishoprics, the mail among bishops and more.
●  Parochial archives. Codes and files are included from the villages of Tinos, original family documents which they consigned to the parish priest to keep, certificate books, church history and their property, ecclesiastical books est.
Documents of the Consistory Court. They mostly regard the habitants’ life and the between them differences but also equity documents by the time of the dominance of the Venetians and the Turks. Apart from them, the archives of the catholic churches of Mykonos Andros but also Chios Lesbos and Samos, are also kept. Furthermore, stray documents, such as the Consistory Court of Crete code (1580-1610), Sultans’ and Turkish officers’ diktats and more. The archive is classified until 1850 and available to the public. Efforts are being made for the subsequent documents to be classified too.

“Loutra”
The village has taken its name from the baths (loutra), that formerly existed in the area. It is green and full of gardens and citrus fruits. It has a large history, forasmuch as here had been built the monasteries of the Jesuit monks (after the catastrophy of the Castle at the beginning of the 19th century) and of the Ursuline nuns. It had been one of the most important thorps of the island the past two centuries and it comprised a religious and cultural centre. In the Jesuit monastery, a folkloric museum operates, where you can admire apart from the monastery’s heirlooms, agricultural and other professional tools of the 19th and 20th century, an oil press, a wine press, an arrack maker, the academy’s pharmacy, several means of audio-visual teaching and more. Here is also the significant Church of Saint Joseph (in the middle of the 19th century), built in a baroque neoclassical buildings with an extraordinary interior design (efforts are being made to collect money for its preservation). At the monastery of the Ursulines embroidery is exhibited, anterior students’ books, pianos, and other instruments. The village’s active Association, often organizes events of cultural interest.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

THE MONASTERY OF THE URSULINES
It was found in “Loutra” in 1862 by a nun of the Ursuline fraternity. It started with a bright future and it was meant to house an orphanage, a boarding school, a French high-school, a university, a Greek elementary school and a carpet making school. It reached its peak at the end of the 19th century, while at the beginning of the 20th century had over 300 boarder students from all over Greece. During th e 2nd world war the school closed down and when it reopened it confined its operation to the elementary school, which closed down around 1980, while the carpet making school operated until 1990. Today the building comprises the trademark of the village and it preserves even abandoned its previous glory.

“Skalados”
The village is built on the mountain’s slope with innumerable steps and a marvelous view to t he around villages. It combines the traditional and modern architecture. There are a coffee house and a tavern, where the passer can have a pleasant stop.

“Krokos”

“Perastra”
It is built on the homonymic ravine, beside “Komi” with which is connected by a traditional path. It is green with cute rock made bridges, refreshing fountains, ruins of oil presses and windmills.

“Komi”
It is a head village of Tinos, built on the fertile valley of the island, “Livadi”. It is a vital village, while at its alleys one can come across locals and at its squares, children. It is also self-sufficient, as it provides all the goods, not only to its habitants but also to the villagers around it. It is worth walking through the paths, resting at its beautiful squares and visiting the catholic church of Saint John with the marble pre- Christian graven column located in its yard. The largest part of the island’s agricultural and artichoke production depends on here. Furthermore, the artichoke festival which is organized in “Komi” at the beginning of May is pretty popular. The village has a tavern, a coffee shop, grocery store, private practice, as well as the remarkable Association of “Komi-Perastra”.

“Kato Klisma”
It is one of the most fertile villages of the island, while the grassland starts from here. It has a lot of water, cornstalks, and a lot of green. The church of Saint Anastasia challenges your interest, built on ruins of a pre- Christian sanctuary and ruins of old oil presses.

ARTICHOKE FESTIVAL
The importance of the artichoke production on this island appears in the festival that was established the last few years in honor of this special vegetable. For this reason 5000-10000 artichokes are being donated by the farmers. In the morning of the established day at the beginning of May the women of the village “Komi” where the festival takes place, take over the cleaning and cooking of the artichokes. The recipes made are many and until dark, when crowds of people accumulates, they have filled the tables with various dishes: artichokes in omelets, papoutsakia, ala polita, with fish, with meat, with eggs and lemon, boiled, in salads and more. The people present taste all the creations while the violins and the traditional music follow the dancing that lasts until dawn.

“Aetofolia”
This village has taken its name by its position, while it is highly built, at the “North Mountain”(tou voria to vouni). It is picturesque, with its traditional elements preserved and with a nice view to “Kato Meri”. The new road that was recently opened connects the village to “Exo Meri” through the location “Tis koris o pyrgos” (The daughter's Tower), one of the most ancient on the island.

“Karkados”
The thorp took its name from the word “Halkados”, due to the ancient copper quarry that operated in the area. In this small village is the old church of Sotiras, which is distinguished for its bell tower “the small Pisa.” which has a slight inclination.

“Kalloni”

here. Down at the ravine, hidden in the foliages of the trees, there is a chapel of Saint Fanourios where people draw round from the villages on the day of its celebration. Giannoulis Koulouris came from here as well as Manolis Boulgaris, marble sculptors, and Lili Berthe, dancer of the Opera. In earlier times a sewing school was operating, where girls from Pyrgos also studied.

“Marlas”
It is built on a slope viewing “Pyrgos”. In this beautiful and picturesque village, the parish church of Saints Anargirous preponderates, which also distinguishes for its artistic marble decoration. Over the main entrance, the Saints with the cross in the middle and a snake wrapped around it have been graven on marble, the only one in Greece. In a short distance, there has been discovered a Mycenae dome-shaped and geometrical tomb, while the Monastery of Kyra Xeni and Saint Thekla are placed further, in the peace and beauty of the infertile landscape. Formerly, laboratories of talcum and ignescent stone operated there.  

“Mamados”
It is the most remote village of Tinos, with a view to the channel between Tinos and Andros. This small thorp, crystal clean due to the winds that blow there, is picturesque with traditional white houses, flowered yards and paved with slabs alleys. The Association of Marlas-Mamados develops great activity.

“Ismael”
It is a derelict village near “Marlas”. The habitants that had been left took refuge to the villages “Marlas” and “Mamados”, while in 1968 the last resident left too.

“Pyrgos”
The biggest village in Tinos and one of the oldest owes its name to an old Venetian Castle (Pyrgos), which existed in the area and to which documents of the 16th century refer. It is surrounded by mountains and stands out for the picturesque and beautiful architecture, while it preserves unalterable the Tinian tradition. It is the homeland of many great artists of Tinos but also Greece, such as Giannoulis Halepas, D. Fillipotis, N. Litras and many more. The artistic tradition is obvious, from the house architecture, the marble lintels, the numerous ornaments everywhere, even the streets, the drinking fountains and the marvellous churches. The local sculptors, taking advantage of the privilege of the white and green marble deposits, which abound in the area, have carefully decorated the village, which could be characterized as an outdoor museum. It is worth visiting the "Artists of Panormos" museum, the houses of Halepas and Litras, the innumerable laboratories of local sculptors, the unique square with the marble dinking fountain and the centenarian plane and the impressive churches of Saint Nickolas and Saint Dimitrios with their delicate decoration. The village's cemetery provokes great interest with the amazing marble sculpted gravestones, pieces of great artists, and the School of Arts, the only one in Greece, while beside it was recently founded the museum of Marble Arts. "Pyrgos", even though remote, has all the necessities. With the traditional coffee houses all united at the main square but also all over the village, the bakery and many more stores, comprises an ideal destination for every visitor.

GIANNOULIS HALEPAS

He was born in "Pyrgos" in 1839 from an excellent marble sculptor father. He studied in the Rome Art Academy, where he was admired and awarded by his teachers.
After his return to Athens he founded a marble laboratory, where he created marvelous pieces which today adorn Athens as well as other places. Among those is "The wood-cracker" at "Zappeio". The honors that were never given to him by the government when alive, even though graduates of the Athens Technical School were practicing in his laboratory, were given to him after his death (1919) with the prize of Literature and Arts.

JOHN GAITIS
Born in 1923 in Athens with originated from "Pyrgos", John Gaitis, studied in the upper School of Arts with teachers, Konstantinos Parthenis and John Filippotis, and in Paris, where he came across all the important streams of the 20th century. The period 1944- 1984, when he died, was really creative, while he created over 4000 pieces and participated in many exhibitions. His "little people" with the characteristic striped suits appear during the 60's and they are established as the artist's trademark. Suffocationally repeated, they express the response of Gaitis to the mechanic rhythms of the modern society. The painter was widely acknowledged, pieces of his are all over the world and a copy of a piece is placed today at a metro station in Athens.

SCHOOL OF ARTS
It was founded in the middle of the past century in "Pyrgos", motherland of many great artists, aiming to train students in marble sculpting. The graduates have the opportunity to continue their studies in the upper School of Arts in Athens, while two of them with the best score enter without exams.
Being unique, it attracts students from all over Greece. The studies last three years and the courses taught are sculpting, painting, marble sculpting, line drawing, Art history and composition. The graduates can work as freelancers in their laboratories or in reconstructive works in archeological areas.(Parthenon). P.I.I.E.T played and plays a very important role from the foundation of the School until today, supporting it financially as well as the students who can eat there free. Besides that, other local factors support the School, such as the brotherhood of Tinian people in Athens, "Panormos" community and the borough of Xomburgo. In the beginning it belonged to the ministry of education and religion, while today comes under the ministry of culture, which sponsors it every year.

"Panormos"
It comprises the seaport of "Pyrgos". This thorp, built near a natural port-bay and beside a wet area, is located at the north side of Tinos. With the island "Planitis" in the centre of the port, it consisted one of the biggest ports of the island, during the past centuries, as the abandoned lighthouse on "Planitis" witnesses (Today efforts are being made for its preservation). Via it, the transit trade of "Exo Meria" was being conducted. Today, there descend small boats and ketches, as well as touristic crafts. It is a beloved destination of the visitors but also locals, while it combines picturesque beaches on either side of the port (Saint Sea, Kavalourko, Rohari) with the unique coffee shops and taverns which offer fresh sea food. That is the reason why, it is considered one of the most touristic thorps of Tinos.

 

SIGHTS

submerged the island, they repeated the works with greater eagerness. Digging at the substructure of an old Christian church in order to build a new one, the day of the sanctification (01/01/1823) water sprang from a dry well in the area, which was considered as a miracle. The new temple was dedicated to the Life-giving Source. While the works for the finding of the icon continued, on the 30th of January the axe of a laborer from the village "Falatados" hit and broke in to two pieces the icon, living the images of Virgin Mary and the archangel unscratched.
The joyful message of the finding spread all over revolutionary Greece and the believers came to worship and to offer financial support for the construction of her church and their valuables as dedications, while the works continued. Among the first pilgrims were ranked the heroes of the battle; Kolokotronis, Mkrigiannis, Miaoulis, Kanaris and more.

THE "LANTERNS"
It is a custom that takes place every year on the 30th of January in Town, where the mass turnout of Tinian people from every corner of the island, relives, with their lanterns lit in their hands to worship the icon of Virgin Mary, as soon as the news about its finding was diffused.
The night of January 30th the  burghal philharmonic, the students of Elementary Schools Lyceums and Gymnasiums, but also small children and adults of every age holding a lantern with colorful see-through membrane, start from the church of Virgin Mary and passing through the narrow alleys, chant marching songs refering to this big celebration of Tinos.
" Come Tinian people
to celebrate the finding of our
Virgin Mary
let's all laud"
Forerunners are the clergy and the Authorities of Tinos and the Cyclades, a throng follows from all over the island, as well as visitors and they all unite at "Pantanassis" square, while fireworks light the sky and the boats blast. From a platform at the square, wishful speeches are made and this joyful event ends with a sumptuous treat by the borough of Tinos.

THE GREEK HOLY FOUNDATION OF THE ANNUNCIATION OF TINOS
The G.H.F.A.T is a legal entity of Public Equity and it is under the surveillance of the ministry of education and religion. It is being run by a ten member committee under the presidency of the eparch of Syros-Tinos. The income comes from believers' contribution, endowments, ritual rights, oblation sales and real estate hires.
The activities that have been developed until now are polymorphous and of great importance. In particular it develops a multitude of National, Educational, Philanthropic, Religious, Social and Cultural activities. Those include; the nursing of thousands refugees, the dispensation of valuables to the Government during periods of war, the foundation, financial support and enhancement of schools, the scholarships to locals that rise to eminence, the aids to the poor, sick and elderly, the utilities and many more.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

THE 15TH OF AUGUST

The biggest celebration of Tinos and one of the biggest of Orthodoxy is the celebration of Virgin Mary on the 15th of August. Not only the people but also the whole island prepares for a long time for this day. Throngs pent the night before in the

Telesinos, Athineos, Agasias, Ephesius, while the Macedonian Andronicus from "Kiristos" constructed a great sun dial(it is now in the island's archeological museum). The building program of the end of the 2nd century BC which included imposing buildings like the great arcade and the monumental altar, overlaps with the big economic growth of the Cyclades, when Delos becomes a free port and many foreign, mainly Italians, settle down there. Limited building activity is detected during the Roman period, after a time of declension. By the middle of the 1st century BC, though, the old glow dissolves and in the middle of the 3rd century AC the Sanctuary is abandoned. The problems of the Roman Empire in conjunction with the invasions of the Erouls that destroyed Athens in 267/8 AC put an end to a history of six centuries. A ceramic oven operates for a while on the ruins and it seems like the Sanctuary is only a wreck, where only those who sought ready to use building hardware hang around, to use it elsewhere.
The fact of how famous this temple was, can be confirmed from by Stravonas refering to it as "massive and worth to see" but also from the large range of its fame that exceeded the borders of the Greek world and reached Italy and Asia Minor. In this Sanctuary festivals were also organized in honor of the god, the well known "Poseidonia" and "Poseidia"(in January-February). Many people concentrated from all over Greece, theatrical competitions took place and lamb sacrifices were made. From the temple's descriptions and excavations we learn that massive sculptures of Poseidon and Amphitrite were placed in the Sanctuary. The same period the worship of Amphitrite, Poseidon's wife, was also established, who was worshiped for her curative attribute that practiced on women, that couldn't conceive. This Sanctuary had a similar fame with the Asclepius in Epidaurus and sick visited it, trusting its beneficial capacity. Furthermore it's a fact that the environment where it was built- in
a garden beside the sea- favored their cure. The temple's priests, apart from their other obligations, performed operations to patients. The worship of this Sanctuary lasted until the 4th century AC, when Christianity spread the new religion, and the Greek Dodecatheon was renounced. After the end of the Sanctuary's worship, many parts of it were used by locals for house and church constructions, as well as for banquettes in their fields. The final destruction of the Temple was made during the Venetians and the Turks, when the captors took advantage of everything that had remained at the place, statues, columns and other parts, for church and building constructions.
From the excavations of the Belgian archeologists H.Demoulin and P. Graindor in the beginning of the past century (1903 and 1905) the remains of the Temple, the drinking fountain, the statues, the mosaics and the Andronicus famous sun dial were discovered. Some of these findings are exhibited today in the Archeological museum of Tinos.

XOMBURGO
The rock of Xomburgo is located 640m high and preponderates in the middle of the southern part of the island. It comprises a trademark and an adornment of Tinos and welcomes the visitors by the time the boat reaches the port of "Chora". It is directly connected with the habitants' lives and their safe residence, due to its natural entrenchment.

Its history starts from the very old years, but we will only refer to the evidence found. The first signs of inhabitancy go back to the Copper period, when the Cyclopean wall is built in Xomburgo. This fact indicates that the until then settlement in the area "Vriocastro" stops being safe, possibly due to invasions from the sea, and its habitants are obliged to seek a safer shelter. The occupation of the rock continues through the

MUSEUMS
THE ARCHEOLOGICAL MUSEUM
The archeological museum is located in the heart of the Town, at the central road that leads at the church of Virgin Mary and no passenger can ignore it. It was built in the beginning of the 60's with the initiative of the Archeological Company. In this museum marvelous and considerable collections of archeological findings are housed from all over the island. The most important worthy visiting collections are; the great and unique earthenware jars that were discovered in the famous Sanctuary of Goddess Ceres and her daughter at the foothill of Xomburgo and they are dated during the archaic period(8th-7th century          BC), statues and architectural parts from Poseidon's and Amphitrite's Temple in "Kionia", Andronicus sun dial which consists one of the most important findings of this temple(1st century BC), a beautiful mosaic floor that was found in the district of Virgin Mary, coins of several ages and other archeological findings.
Initiative has been taken for the building to be expanded so that more collections could be exhibited that now are stored in the storage of the museum, something that will make it even more significant. The price of the museum's ticket is symbolic, and its staff always ready to inform every visitor.

PORTRAIT GALLERY 
The portrait gallery is housed in a wide space in the precinct of Virgin Mary's church. It includes more than 100 paintings, authentic and copies, of many famous painters from Tinos and elsewhere such as, N.Litras, G.Iakovidis, N.Gizis, K.Parthenis, I.Altamoura, K.Volonaki, G.Roilou. Furthermore in this area, cinquecento paintings are exhibited from Italy and the Ionian islands. Except for them, the visitor can admire several adornments of European Art, vases, furniture, a fabulous mirror and other objects of great value.

MUSEUM OF TINIAN ARTISTS
The museum off Tinian artists is located in the forecourt of the church of the Annunciation. It includes representative samples of the artworks of Tinian artists. There are remarkable paintings and sculptures, authentic and copies. Among the artists that have created the paintings are; N.Gizis, Nikiforos, Nickolas and Pericles Litras, G.Roilos, M. Renieris, G.Gaitis, while there are also sculptures and anaglyphs of G.Halepas, L.Sohos, D.Filippotis, G.Vitalis, Lazarus and Marcus Fitalis and I.Voulgaris.

ECCLESIASTICAL HEIRLOOM AND ICON EXHIBITION
It is housed in one of the rooms of the Virgin Mary church's forecourt. It includes many ecclesiastical objects from the island, mainly icons from the 14th-19th century, as well as the Rigas Fereos map(one of the three authentic that have been saved) and the ring of Kolokotronis. There are also woodcuts of the Tinian artist Ioannis Platis. In conclusion the collection has paintings of famous artists such as; F.Kontoglou and N.Litras.

AMBRY
It is placed on the eastern side of the Virgin Mary's church. It contains many important sacred objects, like valuable gospels, icons, crosses, communion cups even eburnean elephant tusks.

According to the local tradition, three sisters from the village "Tripotamos" saw the same dream; a lady (Virgin Mary) was telling them to build a monastery and to take monastic vows in a specific place on the mountain "Kehrovouni" where they could in parallel see a weird light. After controversies with the rest of their family, they finally decided to obey the lady of their dream. Since, the winds at that specific area were very strong and the district full of snakes, they attempted to build their cells a bit southern. However, as much as they tried, the cells were ruined during the night and  the tools were located at the point of the first recommendation. After that they were convinced that they should obey to the initiatory instructions and built three cells which afterwards comprised the monastery's centre.
Due to source absence which could confirm the tradition, it is estimated that the monastery was built around the 11th-12th century AC, even though the first document that refers to it is of the 17th century(possibly 1614). Built on a 600 m altitude, clambered on the top of the mountain, with a great view of the Town and the villages of Tinos but also the Aegean and the islands around, it vindicates every visitor and pilgrim.
In this Monastery also took monastic vows, nun Pelagia who saw a dream of Virgin Mary telling her the place where her icon was finally found, the one of the Annunciation. From this incident Tinos became a centre of attraction for the Christians around the world. Nun Pelagia was blessed from our church and 37 years ago she became a Saint. Her remembrance is celebrated with a glorious ceremony in Tinos every year on the 23rd of July. In honor of the dreamer, the Annunciation icon is transported with a procession and concourse to the monastery in the morning where a Mass is performed in the church by the monks. Entertainment of the believers follows and in the afternoon of the same day, the icon is returned to its place, at the Annunciation church in "Chora". The return is a monumental procession in which the eparch, the Tinian clergy, the mother superior and the nuns and thousands of people participate on foot. The monastery reached many times the danger of closing down, like for example during the kingship of Othonas and the Barbarians when with decrees they closed or almost closed many monasteries of the country. The love and belief, though, of the Tinian people, that time's monks but also will all of the Christians help and their assertive opposition, not only the monastery didn't close down but in the contrary it acquired glory and fame all over the Christian world.
Formerly, hundreds of nuns lived in the Monastery but today their number has significantly been reduced. It hasn't though stopped attracting the believers but also many visitors.
The Monastery of the "Angels' Lady" apart from all the things that has been demonstrating all these centuries, it also comprises a sample of traditional Tinian architecture. With the narrow cobbly alleys, its continuous arches, its whiteness and simplicity it is a characteristic example of a Tinian thorp. The only difference from the rest villages is that it is built as an entrenchment, while the Tinian thorps( in contrast with the rest Cycladic) spread free in the Tinian countryside.
 Today you can visit Saint Pelagia's cell which has been kept unalterable, worship her head, but also to wander around the alleys, enjoying the piece and only the nature's sounds. The few nuns are always eager to give you a tour and talk about the monastery's history but also to offer a simple treat to the travelers.

It is worth mentioning that in the Monastery there is a library that has over 2000 books which are dated many centuries back. Today the nuns likewise during the Byzantine years pray but also work to earn their living. With the marvelous needlework, other embroidery and herbs that they collect by themselves, they try to

bones around of at least six women and children. From vessel pieces we can assume that they go back to the Greek revolution and formerly. The tradition says that some destroyer lit a fire at the entrance of the cave and convicted these people to martyrdom. A characteristic of the cave is the rare species of flies which live there in a swarm. Specialists support that this species exists, only here.

"Drakolakas"
It is 4km far from the village "Platia" and 1 km from the cove "Vathi". The cave's name comes from "Drakoti" which is a local appellation for the affliction "cyanosis".
The locals brought the children affected from the sickness and they changed their black clothes into colorful. They prayed there for their cure and the children stayed in the cave for three nights. The ones that survived were considered to be cured by the sanative capacities of the cave.

The cave of "Panormos"
This cave is located north of "Panormos", in the northwest side of Tinos. It was discovered in 1854 and was transformed into an extraction quarry of marble.
To the smaller caves of the island belong:

The cave of "Vriocastro"
It is located in the southeast side of the hill "Vriocastro". It is 4m wide and its length is about 5m. The access can be achieved only from sea.

The cave of "Vourlismena"
We encounter it in the homonymic locality, in the east of the island. It is 4m wide and 5m deep. Its ground is rocky and comprises a wild pigeons' sanctuary.

The cave of "Kithara" ("Guitar")
It is 3km north of the above cave. It got its name from the cove that has the shape of a guitar. It is 5m wide and 6m deep. The access can be achieved only from sea. It is also a sanctuary for wild pigeons. It is said that this cave is connected to the mountain Tsiknias.

Other caves of the island are the one of "Fournakia", the "cave", the "chamber", the "Koufagreli" and more.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

BEACHES
"Agios Fokas" (Saint Fokas)
It is the biggest and one of the most beautiful beaches on the island. It is only a few minutes far from "Chora" on foot and it accumulates everything a beach can have. In other points there is only sand, in other only pebbles or both, while pines and thrift offer their shade lengthways the coast. Restaurants, cafeterias, rooms to let, umbrellas and deck chairs but also beach bars offering sea sports satisfies any taste. The camping and the heliport of the island are here. Saint Fokas is ideal for swimming, jogging and strolling up to the ancient rock of "Vriocastro" with a view to Delos.

"Stavros"(Cross)

Westwards, in a short distance from "Chora" there is the old port of "Stavros". This small picturesque beach with the ruins of the past is ideal mainly for an afternoon swim, while the sunset from here is remarkable. The small homonymic chapel and the

After the village "Potamia" we descend to "Santa Margarita". It is a quiet sandy beach that owes its name to the homonymic catholic chapel of the area. The fact that it does not draw round a lot of people makes it a first choice to anyone that is lonely and loves peace.

"Livada"
It is a unique beach to which you can go if you continue down the road "Steni- Mirsini". The natural landscape beguiles every visitor while besides the river that disembogues here and the lakes that have been formed; the massive rocks have taken every imaginary shape from the wind and the waves. The beach that is ideal when it is calm has pebbles that continue into the sea which deepens abruptly. As in "Kolimpithra", when the norther blows the waves rise lively and remind of exotic images. The location is ideal to explore while the excursionist can walk in the coomb beside the river and the oaks, photograph the place and eat at the tavern.

"Kolimpithra"
In "Komi" we come across the crossroad to "Kolimpithra". After a pleasurable course through the pasture we end up at the beaches of "Kolimpithra". It is a natural sea-basin, with "Drakonisi" preponderating in the middle of the gulf. The place has been characterized as a biotope while several rear bird species pass from here. The biggest coast is quiet while not a lot of people draw round but also due to the flows that are created by the norther. A lake with ducks, turtles and other animals is beside it. The smallest coast is the most popular. Leeward, ideal for sports on the sand, with umbrellas and deck chairs, is one of the most beloved destinations of any kind of visitor. The fish-taverns near the waves but also above the beach offer hospitality to the bathers. The old Ursouline camps of today's Leontios (School) are also placed here.

"Agios Romanos"
It is located in the south part of the island with a small developing thorp and an unobstructed view to the Aegean and Syros. It is a long beach with sand and shadowy trees. At its edge there is a small port with a homonymic chapel. A tavern welcomes the visitors. In the west from "Agios Romanos" you can see the beautiful deserted beach of "Apigania" with the green waters. For someone to go there; a small path must be descended and water and an umbrella must be obtained.

"Agios Petros"
It is the first of the three beaches of the village "Kardiani"(along with "Kalivia" and "Ormos Giannaki"). In the middle on a rock, there is the homonymic catholic chapel (built in the 16th century) that separates the coast in two parts. Here, on 30/09/44 German landing crafts were hit. You can enjoy the quietness the place can offer the crystal clear water and the thin white sand.

"Ormos Giannaki"
It is located under the majestic village of "Kardiani" which is literally clambered on the mountain with which it is connected apart from the asphalt roadway also with an old traditional path. It is a family beach with pebbles and sand. The thorp here is developing and it has taverns. In the east of "Ormos Giannaki" there is "Kalivia", a quiet and peaceful coast with sand and thrift that offers shadow.

Everybody sits around the table and the instruments start to play. First the couple dances while the musicians sing extemporary songs for the groom and the bride complimenting the groom's manfulness and the bride's beauty. The revel and feast continuous, until dawn and formerly, it continued until the next day's afternoon.

 

LOCAL MUSIC AND INSTRUMENTS
 The par excellance necessary instruments in a Tinian revel are the violin and the lute. Formerly, the hornpipe was also usual which unfortunately today is extinct and the hornpipe musicians on the island are few. The guitar, the oud, the bouzouki, the accordion and the clarinet are secondary and they follow the main instruments in big orchestrations. The most popular dances in Tinos are "Mpalos" and "Sirtos".

CHRISTMAS CAROLS
The Christmas Carols is a category of folk songs that are chanted all over Greece on Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve, Epiphany Eve, to laud the Lord, Christ, Saint John the Baptist, Great Basil.
In Tinos, formerly, they mainly expressed the religious feeling. They chanted at night of the Eve the elderly around the houses starting from the priest's house. As the years went by, as the old carol chanters were passing away, the young people started singing them around the villages holding drums which today have been displaced by triangles.
Popular Tinian carols are the below;

    *************************************************
Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 *************************************************

 

"VEGERA"   (EVENING PARTY)
The "Vegera" is an ancient custom that has been preserved until today in the villages of Tinos during the cold winter nights. This custom contributes to the villagers' sociality, brings closer relatives and friends and gives to children joy. The family that has organized the "Vegera", prepares the oil lamp early in the afternoon which also comprises the necessary guide for the road. During the course the younger child holds the lamp and walks in the front while in the back the father with the rest of the family follows and guides it. When they arrive at their final destination the children of the two families spread in the yard and enjoy themselves playing various games and at the end when they are tired they sit and listen to the grandmother telling fairy tails and stories with elves. Beside the settled table with all sorts of dainty morsels and the fire basket where the chestnuts are baking, the adults sit while the housewife knits and plies the distaff. The "Vegera" lasts until ten or eleven o'clock at night and when it ends they light the lamps and the families say goodnight to each other.

PRODUCTS FROM TINOS

1kg potatoes
2 spoons butter
2 spoons olive oil
5 eggs
2 spoons grated cheese
2 spoons milk
salt and pepper
DIRECTIONS: Peal of the potatoes. Cut them in thin slices. Put in a non-stick frying pan the butter and the potatoes and add the sausage cut in small pieces. Cover the pan and braise. Stir regularly with a wooden spoon, until their baked. Mix the eggs with all the rest ingredients and pour over the potatoes. Fry one side of the omelet and then turn it the other side to fry as well.  It is served hot and goes with a season salad.

Savore with molasses
INGREDIENTS FOR 6-8 PEOPLE
1kg of small bogue or alevin
½ cup flour
1 cup frying oil
For the sauce:
3 spoons olive oil
3 slices of garlic fine-cut
3 spoons flour
¼ cup vinegar
¼ cup molasses
1 cup water
1 small spoon sugar
salt, pepper
DIRECTIONS: Wash the fish, salt them and leave them for a while in the salt. Then strain them. Afterwards flour them and fry them. Put them in a shallow platter. Brown the garlic in the olive oil and add the flour stirring. Add the molasses slowly, the vinegar the water and the sugar and stir them with a wooden spoon, not to curdle. Add water if it is needed to make a liquid sauce and amend its taste until it's sweet and sour. As it is hot pour it over the fish. They are served hot or cold.
VARIATIONS: Add a branch of rosemary and eliminate the molasses.
NOTE: The fish covered with this sauce could be preserved unalterable in days that they didn't have fridges and the farmers and fishermen took them along when they were to come back in 2 or 3 days.

Stuffed Squid
INGREDIENTS FOR 4 PEOPLE
1 ½ kg Squid
1 big onion fine-cut
½ cup rice
1 cup parsley fine-cut
3 spoons caper
1 slice stale grated bread
1 cup olive oil
1 cup white wine, salt, pepper

DIRECTIONS: Clean the squid by separating the head from the blades and the rest of the body, removing the guts and the thin diaphanous bone of the back. Wash the parts.

with the rich vegetation by sycamores and oaks and explore locations with old watermills. At the position "Lidakia", the scenery is spectacular, while innumerable weathered granite rocks enchain the excursionist. The errantry can end through the pastoral areas of "Plati" and "Magganari", at the coast of "Livada", a beautiful and clean as a whistle beach. Moreover, the excursion can be extended to the lighthouse of "Livada" that is located at the northeast edge of the island. At the same destination you can also wind up, starting from the village "Mirsini" which is on the roots of the mount "Tsiknias".

 

2 "KSINARA- XOMBURGO- KOUMAROS-SKALADOS- KROKOS- SMARDAKITO- TARAMPADOS- KAMPOS- LOYTRA- PERASTRA"   
It is a long and tiring route but worth for someone to follow, because he will have the chance to know many villages of the hinterland, passing through them, but also the grandeur of the natural scenery and its expressions. Starting from the village "Xinara", head of the "Xomburgo" borough, where the noble building of the Catholic archbishop preponderates, the sight-seer ascends to "Xomburgo" which overhangs this village casting its shadow imposingly. At the top of the castle the panoramic view rivets the attention, while the large marble cross also presents great interest in memory of the old church of Saint Helen that had been there. Afterwards the road goes through "Koumaros", at the slope of the mountain "Fourka", with a view to the valley of "Komi" and its villages. Having on his right hand the unique landscape of "Volax" with the granite shapes, the hiker shelves to the nearest village, "Skalados", where he can have a brake for coffee or a soft drink at the village's coffee place. The way down will continue to "Krokos", a picturesque village in the ravine with traditional taverns. The route afterwards becomes acclivitous but pleasant, while it continues through a path between fields with waters and fruit trees. Coming across, picturesque chapels, dovecotes, threshing areas, windmills, the excursionist will reach "Smardakito", a village with a nice position, architecture and the cool source where he can rest. Continuing to "Tarampados" he will have the chance to enjoy the marvelous picture of the artistic dovecotes which are in assembly in the area and are ranked among the biggest and best preserved of the island. He will carry on to the vicinal village , "Kampos", from where he will procure odoriferous sea bread and farmhouse loaves, and he will shelve to "Loutra", a village covered with green and citrus fruits, the head of the Ursouline nuns and the Jesuit monks. In conclusion, he will arrive at the route's end, " Perastra", walking in parallel with the flume of "Komi", among the oleanders and the osiers and passing over the rock bridges and the cobbly alleys.

3 "KEHROVOUNI ABBEY- MOUNTADOS- SPERADOS- TRIPOTAMOS- XOMBURGO"

This route that starts from the "Kehrovouni" abbey and ends to "Xomburgo" or vice versa can be compared to communicating vessels while the beginning and the end are located on the peaks of the two mountains around the same height. Thus, anyone that tries to walk it has to bear grades and he'll earn a lot, while besides the physical exercise he will have enjoyed a fabulous route. From the abbey starts a cobbly twisting path that goes down the slope with the fields and the innumerous terraces, the stables and the threshing areas and ends up in the village "Mountados". The foot passenger here has the chance to be guided in the beautiful and picturesque village and rest drinking water from its source. Afterwards, passing over a rock bridge and leaving behind on his right "Karya" and the hill of "Kolokithas" with the abandoned windmill, he will reach the villages "Smperados" and "Tripotamos". Both traditional

of the mountain. Here, the ambler comes into his own for his choice for the view of Tinos, the Aegean and the islands around, all in front of his eyes.

8 "DIO CHORIA- FANEROMENI- KOUNARES- (AGIA VARVARA)- AGIOS SOSTIS
With "glistertni" as point of departure, the lower tap of "Dio Choria", the foot passenger can follow the old snaky path and go down the slope having an endless view to the sea. In the front spread the rangelands of "Mantalous" while around are chapels and olive groves. Arriving at the Monastery of "Faneromeni" and at the position "Kounares", it is worth making a stop to admire the scenery and to descry the remnants of the ancient rural thorp. After "Kounares", the route is divided into two sections: one of them leads to "Agia Varvara" and the other one- the main route- to the picturesque port of "Agios Sostis" with a beautiful beach.

9 "KALLONI- AETOFOLIA- KORIS PYRGOS- STAYRIA- MONI KATAPOLIANIS- PLATIA-PYRGOS"
The ambler that will decide to walk this long and of a great cultural interest route, to reach "Kato Meri" at "Exo Meria", will have the chance to attain unique experiences, because he will discover the unexplored side of Tinos. He will boot from "Kalloni", a really pretty village, as its name reveals, he will go up to "Aetofolia" with the great view and the picturesque source, he will pass the rock built bridge and will reach "Agious Anargyrous" and at "Pyrgia", where ruins of the Hellenistic years exist. Heading always to the north side of Tinos with the abrupt slopes and the wild insular nature and having on the right side the Aegean, he will stop at the position "Koris Pyrgos", to enjoy the marvelous view of the dell of "Halakia" and the country cottages built on an ancient thorp. During the whole route the scenery is dry with poor vegetation and fields with the characteristic terraces built with local rock. The next station is the Monastery of "Katapoliani" dated from the 18th century. It is located at the slope of the mountain in the area of "Insternia" and has a great view to the villages of "Exo Meria" and a source with cool water. Afterwards the track is going down to village "Platia" with the war memorial, dedicated to the lost "Panormos" inhabitants and as a final destination the biggest village in Tinos; "Pyrgos". Here the ambler can walk through the marble paved alleys, visit the Museums of "Halepas" and "Artists of Panormos", the School of Arts, the village's cemetery with its brilliant sculptures, the new Museum of marble artistry, admire the rear lintels and rest at the picturesque square of the village with the centenarian sycamore.

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

 

10 "KARDIANI- ISTERNIA-(COAST OF ISTERNIA)- VENARDADOS- PYRGOS- MARLAS- MAMADOS"

With "Kardiani as a point of departure, a village full of green on the southwest sidde of Tinos that literally hangs on the slope of the mountain with an imitable view to the Aegean and Syros, the ambler moves in parallel with the provincial road to "Isternia", a big and beautiful village with a view comparable to that of "Kardiani". Here, he can stop to walk through the marble paved alleys, visit the Museum of the Artists from "Isternia" and the artistic cathedral of Saint Paraskevi. If he wants and has time and desire, he can go down the cobbly path with the steps to the coast of "Isternia" where he can sit for coffee at the coffee house or for sea food at the taverns. Otherwise, he continues for "Pyrgos", passing through the picturesque village of "Vernados" which is located in a ravine with platans. After he travels in the biggest and most beautiful village of Tinos, "Pyrgos", the foot passenger crossing over at the beginning the old

we will walk through the narrow paved with slabs alleys, we will visit its cathedral with the high dome, the museums but also taverns for traditional eating. Whoever desires can visit the contiguous "Xomburgo" with the Catholic Monastery of the "Holy Heart of Jesus" and go up its top with the fantastic view walking through the Castle's ruins.

2 "TRIPOTAMOS- KTIKADOS- KSINARA- LOUTRA- VOLAX- KOMI- KALLONI"
With "Chora" as a starting point and going up the "new" road we are heading to "Pyrgos". Apart from the Tinian country side with the terraces and the flocks that graze in the fields, the dam of "Vaketa" also impresses seeming low like a little lake over the town. After a 5km track we meet "Tripotamos" with the many spread dovecotes. The village is really picturesque and it is worth visiting. The philosopher Cornelius Kastoriadis had chosen to live here. The intersection on the right leads to the pretty villages of "Karia" and "Mountados", while crossing the road on the left towards "Pyrgos" we pass from old windmills and from the island's cheese-dairy. After a short distance (about 1km) we arrive at the villages "Ktikados" and "Hatzirados". A stop for coffee and food with a view to "Kionia" and the sea is best before the continuation of the route towards the hinterland. Afterwards we find ourselves in front of a junction we bear right and we will be led to the historic "Xinara" at the west foothill of "Xomburgo". The Catholic archbishop is here, with its considerable archives, as well as the borough's central office. Very close from there is the village "Loutra" with the historic abbeys of the "Ursuline" nuns and the Jesuit monks. Here, the stop is bounden since the ambler has a plethora of visits to the museums of the village and around the green thorp. Continuing and turning right at the intersection, we go up to the villages "Skalados" with the magical view to the valley of "Komi", "Koumaros" at the foothill of the mountain "Fourka" and "Volax" with the inimitable primeval scenery that impresses with the massive circle rocks that are spread everywhere. Here, you can meet the last basketry experts that create baskets and corfs woven with nonesuch expertise. Returning to the central artery we turn right towards "Krokos" that is placed in the ravine with the shadowy platans and the taverns that anticipate the visitor to taste traditional treats. Continuing the declivitous road and in a short distance we deviate on the right and go up to the desolated village of "Monastiria", at the end of which there is the small but beautiful "Sklavochorio". After this compulsory deviation we return to the central road and we shelve to "Komi" coming across the village "Perastra" on our left which is built in the ravine with rock built bridges. A little further to the right we visit "Agapi" with the discrete architecture and the beautiful dell with the running waters and if we continue we are led to "Vourniotissa", a monastery with myths around its image. Returning again to our primal road, we will reach "Komi" a head village that is located in the singular large bank of Tinos with the innumerous fruit trees and the rich production of agricultural products. From here, you can go to the beautiful beach of "Kolimpithra" where except for an unforgettable swim you will also enjoy fresh sea food at the tavern beside the waves. A little further from "Komi" there are the villages "Kato Klisma" and "Aetofolia". Reaching the end of the route we pass "Karkados" on our right with the canted bell tower of its church and we terminate in "Kalloni", one of the biggest and most beautiful villages of Tinos.

 

"Vourniotissa"

proximate villages of "Marlas" and "Mamados" which are the most obscure villages of Tinos and the old Monastery of "Kyra- Xeni", near "Marlas".

"KYRA- XENI"
Near the village "Marlas" there is the Monastery of "Kyra-Xeni", which was being built from 1732 until 1756. According to the tradition a ship that was coming from "Dardanellia" was in danger outside of "Panormos" from bad weather. The captain and the crew prayed to Virgin Mary to be saved while the captain also promised to become a monk. As a matter of fact, when the ship was sinking and they fell into the sea, he found in the waves an icon of Virgin Mary( an other tradition says that he had it with him in the ship) and she asked him to bring it to land. When he was rescued he came to "Marlas" and sat down to rest. When he got up to leave the icon was too heavy to be lifted. He supposed that he should built a church right over there. He built it after selling his property and dedicated it to Virgin Mary "Kyra-Xeni". The captain became a monk with the name Kallinikos and lived until his declining years. Today "Kyra- Xeni" is celebrated the first Sunday after the 15th of August and people come from all over Tinos.

OFF ROAD ROUTES (BY JEEPS AND ENDURO MOTORCYCLES)
The road network of Tinos is over 1000km from which the 600km are dirt road. The island apart from its other virtues is a small heaven for the visitors that want to circuit it by Jeep or Enduro motorcycles.
The routes below are the most popular, but the ambler must know that the dirt roads and the paths that he can follow are innumerable.

A  THE ROUND OF "TSIKNIAS"
Starting from the village "Steni" the visitor can follow the dirt road which also has some asphalt parts, to circuit the highest mountain of Tinos. The ground is level and the scenery magical since on one side there is the imposing fog covered mountain that casts its shadow while on the other one there is the endless sea. From here, the island of Mykonos can be very clearly seen. Beside the round of "Tsiknias" though, the ambler can climb to the top (only with enduro or very tough Jeeps). The route is very abrupt and demands attention, but vindicates whoever follows it while he has the chance to enjoy the wild natural landscape with the abrupt rocks and the panoramic view. At the top of the mountain there is the church of "Profitis Elias" at a 723m height. The enthusiastic bikers should know that they have the capability to follow every path they find, exploring that way the mountain and its secrets.

B "PETRIADOS- FALATADIANA"
With this route the tourist has the chance to meet the unknown north part of the island with the inimitable view and the granite rocks spread all over the place making the place seem fantastic. The choices are many while the ambler is not constrained to follow one route. With a Jeep and "Falatados" as a starting point he can move to "Kakia Skala" and the church of Virgin Mary. Another route connects "Vourniotissa" with "Kolimpithra" beach and "Exo Meri". This can be accomplished by motorcycle but also by a tough Jeep. Again, the ramifications are many and the driver has the opportunity to change tracks to any destination through paths or dirt road.

C "POLEMOU KAMPOS" (FIELD OF WAR)

The mountains and the abrupt rocks due to the wind are offered for hiking. The most popular places for this sport the rock of "Xomburdo" but also the giant granite rocks in the landscape of "Volax" and "Livada".   

 

Rooms and accomodation in Tinos island, Cyclades, Greece

Information on Tinos Island, Cyclades, Greece

 


HOME

eXTReMe TrackerΣτατιστικά στοιχεία του portal www.tinos.biz